Safety issue #1

rebelracewriter

Over the coming off-season I’m going to be posting some issues that I find potentially dangerous and open it up for discussion. Am I an expert? Certainly not, but hope to be better educated by the time the 2008 racing season begins. I will also try to get info directly from those that are experts, chassis builders, etc. and pass it along as well.

Now, to preface this, I have no specific knowledge of the why’s and how comes regarding the events the past weekend. I would hope that once the details are determined that someone(like IMCA) would give us a cause to help us better understand, what to look for, what to change and make short track racing safer. These are just general overall observations that I see every weekend at track all over the state.

Batteries/placement; After looking at three different type modified chassis’(though this isn’t meant for them specific) and talking to one builder, I find that it is the norm for batteries to placed directly next to the fuel cells. HUH!? Now before you all jump up in unison and yell “rear percentage”……….ummmmm……..isn’t that what ballast is for? I had one driver tell me that having that much rear percentage wasn’t really necessary, nor was the battery that big of a difference.

Having a battery in between the fuel cell and rear bumper is, to me, a recipe for disaster. The placement beside the fuel cell, again to me, isn’t much safer.

Yes, I understand it’s convenient when charging is needed too.

Why would you want a potential point of ignition so damn close to a highly volatile fuel? Yes it may be RARE for a battery to short, but what if……. You also have metal quarter panels, straps for them, roll bars, frame that could all get against the positive terminal and cause a short….add any leaked fuel, even from overflow lines, overfilling slops and then what do you have?