RUSS Joe Spillman

We were all sad to hear that 281 Speedway ended it's season early. Y'all know me.. I reached out to Brother Joe Spillman to see if he would like to talk, to my luck he did. Take a listen to these candid comments about the struggles of a race track operator these days.

** Language Warning**

and there you have it....another festivus miracle! Joe says it when others won't. "How to kill a track with a negative post or text 101".

Negative post get drama and attention...Positive Post get overlooked until the track closes. Then everyone can't figure it out because

"it was such a great track".....key word is WAS.

I work as a manager for a company and the employees who whine and complain about their jobs and the pay and the this and the that are

the ones who will fight the most to keep their jobs when the reaper comes around and fires them. Its the same with racers...WHY???

Discuss that please!!! Would love to hear the answers, I'll bet others would too

I finally got to listen to this interview yesterday and that was a great interview.  I have been waiting for a promoter to lay it all on the line and Joe did it.  I think tracks ought to make it mandatory for their racers to listen to this interview.  I have sat in the office with a couple race promoters and race track owners when they are having to make that dreaded rainout decision.  Trust me that decision has been very difficult because its a 50/50 shot. You make the call then sun comes out and it never rains and drivers are pissed, you wait and see then it rains and drivers are pissed because they drove all that way for it to rain out and you knowing the forecast should of cancelled.