Why are you involved in racing?

abrungot

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

To be all i can be. No wait, thats the ARMY.

Fame and fortune. Nope, thats what I told my wife.

Hmmm, this is a toughy.

Maybe because I love racing. Yep thats it.

#10 Because 60 hours a week at my main job isnt enough work for one man

#9 Because I like to see how fast I can blow all my money and have nothing to show

#8 Because spending $1000 with the potential of winning $500 is too sweet a deal to pass up

#7 Because anyday I should be getting that call from nascar.

#6 Because If Im a race car driver I'm automatically cool..( at least till you meet me)

#5 Because if I'm a race car driver I'm automatically hot..( see perenthesis above)

#4 Because I like grease on everything I own

#3 Because I like when all of my friends yell at me and threaten to kick my butt.

#2 Because I like buying the same tools and parts over and over again

and the #1 reason I race is Because "I WANNA GO FAST" or stupid ...your pick

When I was in the Masters program in Experimental Psychology at UTSA, this subject came up. One of the social psych professors had an interest in the psychology of "road rage" and similar phenomena related to automobile driving.

When he discovered my involvement in stock car racing he considered using race car drivers as one of the "groups of interest" since I could provide him with a large subject pool. But he decided to take a different approach to his study.

While he did not share his hypothesis or even the underlying psychology for his study, I took it upon myself to look up the research that had been done in the area - which, at the time, was almost nothing.

Most of the peer-reviewed literature seemed to identify a desire to control the world around them as one of the underlying constructs. This involved what is commonly referred to as a having a "death wish," which translates into having enough control over their environment to even defy death.