Internal engine cleaners Pt. 2

mfmotorsports

I was reading an archived post about internal engine cleaners. I am talking about the stuff that removes carbon from intake valves and piston tops. Being a factory GM mechanic, I have seen it all when it comes to snake oils. In the previous post, BG engine cleaner was mentioned. Although it is good stuff, one product was overlooked. It is known as GM Top engine cleaner or TEC. Diluted with gasoline, I have used it to clear up partially clogged gasoline injectors.  I have also used it to clean diesel fuel injectors when diluted with diesel fuel. I have seen injector balance rates improve on a live scan tool data stream immediately after using it. In my opinion, it is the best stuff out there. The only downside is that you have to get it from your local GM dealer or parts wholesaler. For info on diesel injector cleaning, look up service bulletin #PIP4727A or doc#2373697. For info on cleaning gasoline injectors and carbon removal, there is a tool that OTC makes that pressurizes the cleaner so that you can run it through the fuel rail. You can also run it through a vacuum hose bung after the throttle body out of the container. There are plenty of online videos. Look up engine decarbon online. Being that most of us probably do a teardown in the offseason, I am assuming you are asking about your hauler. I can't stress enough about overlooking the hauler that gets us to the track.

P.S. TEC may not be available in California. It is reformulated for California and known as GM upper cylinder cleaner. Works just fine.

[also removes carbon from valves and pistons. It is the best stuff out there,