Jump to content

Knight Time in DCRP Sprints as Roach Rules Sport Mod Mayhem


Recommended Posts

Knight Time in DCRP Sprints as Roach Rules Sport Mod Mayhem

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 27, 2016) – Tyler Knight raced to his first Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car win of the year Saturday night atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park as Kaleb Roach pocketed the $1,000 winner’s share in the Third Annual Sport Modified Mayhem event.

While Roach and Knight enjoyed victory honors, other Saturday night winners included Cole Traugott in IMCA Modifieds, Michael Pepper in IMCA Stock Cars and David Berger in IMCA Hobby Stocks.

In the 30-lap Sport Modified Mayhem feature event, Woodward’s Roach battled past Dustin Daniels with just seven laps to go and held on the rest of the way to earn victory honors.

Roach and Daniels started from the front row and battled throughout for the top spot, exchanging the lead several times along the way before Roach took command for keeps on the 23rd lap.

Colby’s Daniels had one last at running down the leader after a final caution with five laps to go, but Roach was flawless on the top side to preserve the victory.

Daniels settled for second with Austin Walker rallying from the 11th starting position to capture show honors. Jeff Kaup battled past Jeremy Sigler on the final restart to snare fourth with Sigler rounding out the top five.

In the DCRP Sprint Car ranks, Tyler Knight gunned into the lead from his pole starting position and kept Ray Seemann and Mike Peters at bay throughout the 20-lapper for his first DCRP win since June of 2015 aboard the Myers Racing Engines/Superior Fence No. 11k.

While Knight, Seemann and Peters occupied the podium, Tracey Hill made a late move around track points leader Taylor Velasquez for fourth.

In IMCA Modified action, Cole Traugott escaped an early incident and went on to capture his fifth win in his last five DCRP starts of the year.

After starting tenth, Traugott got loose in turns one and two on the second round, narrowly escaping as Brendon Gemmill and points contender William Nusser were collected.

Third after a pair of cautions two laps later, Traugott disposed of Troy Gemmill on a lap four restart and then wrestled the lead away from Randy Wilson by the completion of the lap.

Woodward’s Traugott cruised on the rest of the way with Gemmill moving into second for keeps just prior to the midway point. Wilson settled for third with Cody Gearhart and 14th-starter Ryan Heger rounding out the top five. With the fifth-place finish, Hugoton’s Heger takes a nine-point lead over William Nusser and Nick Link into the September 24 season championship finale.

Lakin’s Michael Pepper kept his IMCA Stock Car victory streak intact by taking command on the fifth round en route to his sixth consecutive win and eighth overall of the year.

Pepper battled past Shannon Maughllin five laps into the 15-lapper and raced on to the checkered flag ahead of Maughlin, Chris Oliver, Mark Smith and Travis Baird.

In the IMCA Hobby Stocks, David Berger battled past Bryan Habiger at the midway point and kept Matt O’Hair and Cody Davis over the final half of the 15-lapper for his second score of the year.

Duane Wahrman and Reagan Sellard rounded out the top five behind Berger, O’Hair and Davis.

Dodge City Raceway Park finishes off the 2016 season on Saturday night, September 24, with the Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event featuring URSS vs. Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars along with IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City Raceway Park – August 27, 2016 Results:

Second Annual Sport Modified Mayhem – IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 33-Dustin Daniels, 2. 12-Kevin Tabor, 3. 50-Garrett Donley, 4. 5r-Kaleb Roach, 5. 71-Jesse Hoskins, 6. 10-Alex Wiens, 7. 55d-Don Strecker, 8. 21m-Joey Maupin.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 37-Bart Baker, 2. 92-Jeff Kaup, 3. 44-Austin Walker, 4. 40d-Steve Dent, 5. 7J-Jamie French, 6. B55-Brian Davidson, 7. 67-Edwin Elliott, 8. 4-Scott Clausson.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 8-Brian May, 2. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 3. 18-Kyle Wiens, 4. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 5. 57-Tanner Brunson, 6. 62-Marvin Ward, 7. 19-Terry Collins.

“A” Main (30 Laps): 1. 5r-Kaleb Roach, 2. 33-Dustin Daniels, 3. 44-Austin Walker, 4. 92-Jeff Kaup, 5. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 6. 37-Bart Baker, 7. 12-Kevin Tabor, 8. B55-Brian Davidson, 9. 7J-Jamie French, 10. 8-Brian May, 11. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 12. 67-Edwin Elliott, 13. 40d-Steve Dent, 14. 4-Scott Clausson, 15. 10-Alex Wiens, 16. 57-Tanner Brunson, 17. 62-Marvin Ward, 18. 55d-Don Strecker, 19. 19-Terry Collins, 20. 50-Garrett Donley, 21. 18-Kyle Wiens, 22. 71-Jesse Hoskins, 23. 21m-Joey Maupin.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1 10-Jordan Knight, 2. 28-Tracey Hill, 3. 11k-Tyler Knight, 4. 18-Brandon Sprott, 5. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 6. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 7. 49-Kris Moore.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 17x-Craig Jecha, 2. 72-Ray Seemann, 3. 49x-Mike Peters, 4. 11-Keefe Hemel, 5. 24-Kade Hagans, 6. 20J-Brandy Jones.

“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 11k-Tyler Knight, 2. 72-Ray Seemann, 3. 49x-Mike Peters, 4. 28-Tracey Hill, 5. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 6. 10-Jordan Knight, 7. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 8. 11-Keefe Hemel, 9. 17x-Craig Jecha, 10. 18-Brandon Sprott, 11. 24-Kade Hagans, 12. 49-Kris Moore, 13. 20J-Brandy Jones.


IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. A2-Randy Wilson, 2. 44-Mike Lunow, 3. 7s-David Solberg, 4. 7n-William Nusser, 5. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 6. 01-Jesse Smith, 7. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 8. 1n-Nick Link, 9. K98-Danny Keller, 10. 2L-Tracy Link.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 721-Troy Gemmill, 2. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 3. 9-Cole Traugott, 4. 25-Kale Beavers, 5. 75-Randle McRoberts, 6. 57-Joel Lane, 7. 3h-Ryan Heger, 8. 3c-Casey Jo Gemmill, 9. 25b-Tom Beavers.

“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 9-Cole Traugott, 2. 721-Troy Gemmill, 3. A2-Randy Wilson, 4. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 5. 3h-Ryan Heger, 6. 01-Jesse Smith, 7. 75-Randle McRoberts, 8. 25-Kale Beavers, 9. 57-Joel Lane, 10. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 11. 2L-Tracy Link, 12. 7n-William Nusser, 13. 25b-Tom Beavers, 14. 44-Mike Lunow, 15. 3c-Casey Jo Gemmill, 16. 7s-David Solberg, 17. 1n-Nick Link, 18. K98-Danny Keller, 19. G3-Brendon Gemmill.

IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 17m-Shannon Maughlin, 2. 28x-Jack Pepper, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 97x-Ondre Rexford, 5. 22w-Mike Warta, 6. 7-Tex Zimmerman.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 19-Brett Copeland, 2. 71-Mark Smith, 3. 22-Michael Pepper, 4. 28-Ryan Grubbs, 5. 52T-Travis Baird, 6. 33-Marlin Hogie.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 17m-Shannon Maughlin, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 71-Mark Smith, 5. 52T-Travis Baird, 6. 33-Marlin Hogie, 7. 97x-Ondre Rexford, 8. 19-Brett Copeland, 9. 28-Ryan Grubbs, 10. 22w-Mike Warta, 11. 7-Tex Zimmerman, 12. 28x-Jack Pepper.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 2. 007-Bryan Habiger, 3. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 4. 91d-Cody Davis, 5. 20-Tyler Walker. DNS: 57-Chad Kelley.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 44b-David Berger, 2. 55-Jacob Huse, 3. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 4. 7-Tom Reed, 5. 69-Danny Schulte.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 44b-David Berger, 2. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 3. 91d-Cody Davis, 4. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 5. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 6. 55-Jacob Huse, 7. 007-Bryan Habiger, 8. 57-Chad Kelley, 9. 69-Danny Schulte, 10. 7-Tom Reed, 11. 20-Tyler Walker.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...