Jump to content

Tuning up for Short Track Nationals at I-30 Speedway


Recommended Posts

Tuning Up for Short Track Nationals

by Lonnie Wheatley


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (July 7, 2016) – It’s never too early to start getting dialed in for I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals.

After all, that $15,000 winner’s share and coveted title of STN champion already has racers from all across the land chomping at the bit for the nation’s most prestigious 360-ci Sprint Car event, even if it is only July.

Just four months away, the 29th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires is set for November 2-5 atop the high-banked, quarter-mile clay oval in Little Rock, Arkansas.

A couple of past Short Track Nationals champions have already started “tuning up” for this year’s Short Track Nationals with a number of competitors looking for some valuable laps atop I-30 Speedway at this Saturday night’s $3,000-to-win event.

Originally slated to pay $2,500, Saturday’s card was bumped to $3k to win along with a slew of bonuses, which is quite typical of the track that doles out more than $100,000 at each year’s Short Track Nationals.

Tim Crawley has topped the last two feature events at I-30 Speedway on May 7 and June 11 and will likely have to fight off a host of invaders this weekend such as Tony Bruce, Jr., Kyle Bellm and more for a shot at the $3,000 win.

Crawley’s name is all over the STN record books. Crawley ranks as a past winner, taking the top spot in 1998. Crawley has 18 career STN championship feature starts to his credit, atop the charts along with Gary Wright. He has also started 19 career STN preliminary features, an event record.

Crawley isn’t the only past STN winner to reach victory lane this year, as 2001 victor Jason Sides bested the World of Outlaws in the April 26 series return to the track for the first time since 1994.

Along with Crawley and Sides, Hernando, Mississippi’s Andy McElhannon has also enjoyed I-30 Speedway victory lane this year with a March 19 triumph. Enjoying one of his best seasons yet, McElhannon will likely be among those gunning for a first career STN championship feature start in November.

The intensity level of this year’s Short Track Nationals will likely be ratcheted up even more after weather plagued last year’s version and then nixed this Spring’s makeup attempt.

Now a top contender on the Camping World NASCAR Truck series, Christopher Bell still reigns as defending Short Track Nationals champion after becoming the youngest driver to win the event in 2014.

Other past winners of the prestigious event include Sammy Swindell, Paul McMahan, Brad Sweet, Tony Bruce, Jr., Jason Meyers, Jason Johnson, Tim Montgomery, Gary Wright, Jason Sides, Mike Ward, Tim Crawley, Wayne Johnson, Pete Butler, Terry Gray, John Gerloff and Steve Kinser.

It’s a title that is among the most coveted in Sprint Car racing.

And it’s sure to be on each competitor’s mind as they vie for this Saturday night’s winner’s share at I-30 Speedway.
Along with Saturday’s $3,000 to win share for the Stealth Recovery Sprint Cars at I-30 Speedway, some other Saturday night bonuses include:

$200 Hard Charger – Bulldog Construction Co. and Bryant Lube & Tire

$100 Half Way Leader – Brandon Young Photography

$100 Hard Luck Award – Skip Warner and Warner Heat & Air

$100 to the highest finisher in the top ten in Riverside International Speedway points courtesy of Clayton Allen.

The Douglas Babb and Daryl Conrad Xtreme Towing and Recovery Dash for Cash paying: 200, 125, 100, 75, 50, 25.

For more information regarding I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals, check at www.i-30speedway.com or call the track at 501-455-4567.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...