Jump to content

Hines scores USAC win in Hall of Fame opener at Canyon Speedway Park


Recommended Posts

Hines Scores USAC Win in Hall of Fame Opener at CSP

by Lonnie Wheatley


PEORIA, Ariz. (November 14, 2014) Something about the Arizona climate seems to suit Tracy Hines, as the 2011 Western World Champ broke a six-month dry spell in USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car competition by wiring the field in Friday nights 30-lapper that kicked off the 14th Annual Hose Advantage Hall of Fame Classic atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While Hines collected his 47th career USAC National Sprint Car win and first since April 25 at Gas City, Bobby Marcum bested the Challenge Cup Sprint Cars and Dennis Carrier topped the Micro Sprints.

In the USAC Sprint Car main event, Hines gunned into the lead at the outset from his front row outside starting position aboard The Carolina Nut Company No. 4 DRC and never looked back en route to victory lane.

I really got pretty lucky and caught the yellows and reds when I needed them, Hines explained in victory lane. I was a little too tight, I would have been in trouble in traffic.

After a red flag one lap into the going for a turn four skirmish in which Mike Martin got upside down, Chase Stockon gave chase all the way, pressuring Hines for the point several times over the course of the race.

Chase and I are pretty close, so I knew that he would race me hard but that he wouldnt do something stupid like knock a front end down or something, Hines said.

Hines had little to worry about, as Stockon had his hands full most of the way fending off the advances of USAC/CRA champion-to-be Damion Gardner and Ryan Bernal, whose forays deep into the Canyon cushion finally proved to be too much as he dumped it in turn two on the 23rd lap.

Hines kept his challengers at bay over the final eight-lap run to the checkered flag with Stockon fending off Gardner for runner-up honors.

Robert Ballou and pole starter R.J. Johnson rounded out the top five with Kevin Thomas, Jr., sixth at the line. Brady Bacon moved one step closer to the USAC title by advancing from 12th to seventh to take a 60-point advantage over 12th-place finisher Bryan Clauson into Saturday nights series season finale.

Chad Boespflug was eighth with C.J. Leary and Justin Grant completing the top ten.

Gardner opened the night by setting a quick time of 13.759 seconds over the 34-car field, with Martin, Jon Stanbrough, Andrew Reinbold and Jerry Coons, Jr., collecting heat race wins before Thomas, Jr., topped the B Main.

Bobby Marcum took command at the outset of the Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature and dominated throughout the 20-lapper with Lonnie Oliver holding off Dustin Cormany for runner-up honors over the final rounds.

Dennis Carrier was in control throughout the 20-lap Micro Sprint feature with Colton Hardy battling past Dave Van Ess for second just past the midway point.

The 14th Annual Hose Advantage Hall of Fame Classic featuring the USAC National Sprint Cars along with Challenge Cup Sprint Cars and Micro Sprints concludes with Saturday nights racing action going green at 7:00 p.m.

Canyon Speedway Park

14th Annual Hose Advantage Hall of Fame Classic

November 14, 2014 Results:

USAC Amsoil National Sprint Cars:

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Damion Gardner, 4x, Alexander-13.759; 2. Robert Ballou, 12x, Ballou-13.855; 3. Chad Boespflug, 5B, Baldwin-13.859; 4. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 73x, Ford-13.866; 5. Chase Stockon, 32, 32/TBI-13.870; 6. Justin Grant, 40, Hery-13.900; 7. Ryan Bernal, 73, Ford-13.932; 8. Austin Williams, 2, Jory-13.935; 9. Matt Mitchell, 37, Mitchell-13.975; 10. Tracy Hines, 4, Hines-14.015; 11. Jake Swanson, 92, Sertich-14.016; 12. R.J. Johnson, 51, Martin-14.031; 13. Stevie Sussex, 21AZ, Sussex-14.052; 14. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-14.068; 15. Dave Darland, 71P, Phillips-14.073; 16. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-14.091; 17. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-14.123; 18. Jon Stanbrough, 37RW, Dutcher-14.164; 19. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-14.173; 20. Jerry Coons, Jr., 04G, Cook-14.245; 21. Payton Pierce, 18P, Pierce-14.280; 22. Bryan Clauson, 20, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-14.291; 23. Andrew Reinbold, 19, Underwood-14.291; 24. Charles Davis, Jr., 50AZ, Massey-14.341; 25. Michael Curtis, 45c, Turner/Wheeler-14.362; 26. Matt Rossi, 02, Rossi-14.416; 27. Josh Hodges, 74x, Hodges-14.423; 28. Mike Spencer, 50, Chaffin-14.448; 29. Chris Gansen, 4G, Gansen-14.468; 30. Cody Williams, 44, Jory-14.570; 31. Chris Windom, 22B, Weber-14.995; 32. Isaac Chapple, 52, Chapple-15.030; 33. Logan Williams, 5, Jory-15.249; 34. Dalten Gabbard, 77, Gabbard-18.351.

FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Martin, 2. Gardner, 3. Pierce, 4. Stockon, 5. Sussex, 6. Gansen, 7. Curtis, 8. L. Williams, 9. Mitchell.

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Stanbrough, 2. Clauson, 3. Hines, 4. Ballou, 5. Bacon, 6. Grant, 7. Rossi, 8. C. Williams, 9. Gabbard.

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Reinbold, 2. Andretti, 3. Darland, 4. Bernal, 5. Swanson, 6. Boespflug, 7. Hodges, 8. Windom.

FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Coons, 2. Davis, 3. Johnson, 4. Leary, 5. Thomas, 6. A. Williams, 7. Spencer.

SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Thomas, 2. Boespflug, 3. A. Williams, 4. Grant, 5. Bacon, 6. Swanson, 7. Mitchell, 8. Rossi, 9. Spencer, 10. Sussex, 11. Hodges, 12. C. Williams, 13. Windom, 14. Curtis, 15. Gansen, 16. L. Williams, 17. Gabbard.

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Tracy Hines, 2. Chase Stockon, 3. Damion Gardner, 4. Robert Ballou, 5. R.J. Johnson, 6. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 7. Brady Bacon, 8. Chad Boespflug, 9. C.J. Leary, 10. Justin Grant, 11. Jerry Coons, Jr., 12. Bryan Clauson, 13. Matt Mitchell, 14. Jake Swanson, 15. Dave Darland, 16. Cody Williams, 17. Jarett Andretti, 18. Jon Stanbrough, 19. Charles Davis, Jr., 20. Austin Williams, 21. Andrew Reinbold, 22. Ryan Bernal, 23. Payton Pierce, 24. Mike Martin.

Lap Leaders: Tracy Hines 1-30.

Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 18-Dustin Cormany, 2. 21-Rick Greene, 3. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 4. 17-Joe Scheopner, 5. 40-Vince Perez, 6. 29-Katherine Aragon.

Second Heat: 1. 85-Bobby Marcum, 2. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 3. 63-Don Keesler, 4. 28-Tyler Johnson, 5. 99-Matt Lundy, 6. 57-Jeremy Johnson.

A Feature: 1. 85-Bobby Marcum, 2. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 3. 18-Dustin Cormany, 4. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 5. 99-Matt Lundy, 6. 17-Joe Scheopner, 7. 63-Don Keesler, 8. 40-Vince Perez, 9. 57-Jeremy Johnson, 10. 28-Tyler Johnson, 11. 29-Katherine Aragon, 12. 21-Rick Greene.

Micro Sprints:

First Heat: 1. 94-Cassie Klenkie, 2. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 3. 66-Brandon Sutton, 4. 42-Kenny Hilton, 5. 4-Ryan Walter, 6. 7-Mason Keefer, 7. 55-Greg Pritts.

Second Heat: 1. 2-Dennis Carrier, 2. 41-Colton Hardy, 3. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 4. 29-Paul Martin, 5. 53-Joe Pritts, 6. 101-Jim Branum.

Third Heat: 1. 6-Dave Van Ess, 2. 6az-Gary Winter, 3. 50-Cliff Cormany, 4. 4s-Spencer Hill, 5. 9-Marty Morin, 6. 7k-Ian Koons.

A Feature: 1. 2-Dennis Carrier, 2. 41-Colton Hardy, 3. 6-Dave Van Ess, 4. 94-Cassie Klenkie, 5. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 6. 42-Kenny Hilton, 7. 4s-Spencer Hill, 8. 6az-Gary Winter, 9. 7-Mason Keefer, 10. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 11. 4-Ryan Walter, 12. 66-Brandon Sutton, 13. 50-Cliff Cormany, 14. 29-Paul Martin, 15. 9-Marty Morin, 16. 7k-Ian Koons, 17. 55-Greg Pritts, 18. 53-Joe Pritts, 19. 101-Jim Branum.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...