thanks cc speedway

thumper

I have been racing for almost 39 years now but this was the strangest weekend I can remember.It was not the longest,that was a weekend at SAS around 1998 when we actually ran our race at 7:00 PM on Sunday.

We started the nite with a good car count and fan count.The drizzle teased us but we got a few heats in.Then the drizzle won out.Every driver,crew member and fan was not going to give up on this race.The Thunders were on the track pacing when the last and strongest wave of drizzle hit us.Running street tires the racers were not afraid to race on a damp track but the heavy drizzle made it impossible to see.After about 30 yellow laps,we were red flagged and the nite was scrubbed.This is when it got wierd.

At most every track this would have been the end of the weekend.There was a drivers meeting and all concerns were adressed,mainly the great distance some people towed to get here.Austin,Waco,Houston,etc.There were national points involved as well.Michael,Shawn and Mitzi stepped out of the box and decided to continue this event the next morning.They did not have to do this and it cearntany was not profitable to them but being racers themselves decided to offer as an option the Sunday race AND pay the purse that would have been paid Sat nite regardless of who could make Sunday or not.Also since Sunday was not on the scedule,this was a no points race for locals.The whole deal was optional.