Jump to content

ASCS Sooner Region results from Cowtown Spwy. 9/24

Recommended Posts

Rilat Reels in ASCS Sooner Region Cowtown Cash


Lonnie Wheatley, KENNEDALE, Tex. (September 24, 2005) “ For all the havoc that she's wreaked, Hurricane Rita proved to be no match for the "Texas Tornado" at Cowtown Speedway on Saturday night, as Travis Rilat raced to victory lane in the 30-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature.



Rilat fought off a tenacious Kevin Ramey over the first half of the feature event before slipping away in the final rounds to post a near straightaway victory aboard the F&J Construction/Haulmark Trailers No. 29 Maxim, lapping all the way up to seventh in the fast-paced, non-stop affair.



"All that lapped traffic was getting me nervous, it seemed like the whole race there were four or five cars fighting it out in front of me,"Rilat explained in victory lane."I'd get by one bunch of 'em, and there were four more right in front of them. The last couple of laps I just kinda rode behind 'em, I wasn't really feeling any pressure then."


After the initial start was waved off for Eric Baldaccini's turn two spin, outside front row starter Rilat out dueled polesitter Ramey for the point on the opening round. It then only took a handful of laps before the leaders encountered an endless barrage of lapped traffic on the high-banked, quarter-mile clay oval.



As the leaders navigated lapped traffic, two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion Ramey kept the pressure on former ASCS National champion Rilat, briefly taking the lead upon the completion of the eighth lap. Rilat battled back on the low side through turns one and two a half lap later to reclaim the lead.



Ramey stayed on Rilat's bumper over the next few rounds, with Skip Wilson and Sam Hafertepe, Jr., ready to pounce as well.



Rilat's big break occurred just after the halfway point as the battling leaders encountered a gaggle of traffic. Rilat masterfully worked his way through the pack, with Ramey, Wilson and Hafertepe getting hung up long enough for Rilat to slip away.



Rilat raced to nearly a straightaway advantage over the final rounds, with Ramey settling for the runner-up slot. Wilson snared the show position, as Hafertepe crossed the stripe in fourth. Zach Chappell, subbing for an ill Foster Landon, rounded out the top five.



Sean Jones overcame early mechanical problems to charge from 20th to snare sixth, with Johnny Miller the final car on the lead lap in seventh. Derek Cottrell claimed eighth, with current series point leader Sean McClelland and Russ Fletcher completing the top ten.



With only the season finale at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyille, OK, on October 15 remaining, McClelland extended his series point lead to 50 markers over 14th-place finisher Danny Jennings.



Rilat, Ramey and Chappell topped heat race action, with Jennings winning the 15-lap "B" Main.



Baldaccini returned to action after an opening lap flip in the third heat race. On the ensuing restart, Dex Eaton flipped violently after tagging the turn four wall. Eaton was briefly shaken but otherwise uninjured. Larry Fletcher escaped injury as well when he lost a right rear tire and flipped in the "B"Main.






First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Skip Wilson, 3. Derek Cottrell, 4. Mike Sanders, 5. Sean McClelland, 6. Darrell Fletcher, 7. Claud Estes, 8. Todd Evans. DNS: Brian McClelland.



Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Johnny Miller, 3. Ryan Hall, 4. Russ Fletcher, 5. Brad Welborn, 6. Danny Jennings, 7. Earnest Jennings, 8. J.P. Bailey.



Third Heat (10 Laps) 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Rodney Henderson, 4. Chet Soto, 5. Eric Baldaccini, 6. Koby Barksdale, 7. Dex Eaton. DNS: Sean Jones.



B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Danny Jennings, 2. Claud Estes, 3. J.P. Bailey, 4. Eric Baldaccini, 5. Earnest Jennings, 6. Sean Jones, 7. Koby Barksdale, 8. Todd Evans, 9. Darrell Fletcher. DNS: Dex Eaton, Brian McClelland.



A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. Skip Wilson, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Zach Chappell, 6. Sean Jones, 7. Johnny Miller, 8. Derek Cottrell, 9. Sean McClelland, 10. Russ Fletcher, 11. J.P. Bailey, 12. Brad Welborn, 13. Rodney Henderson, 14. Danny Jennings, 15. Eric Baldaccini, 16. Claud Estes, 17. Chet Soto, 18. Ryan Hall, 19. Mike Sanders, 20. Earnest Jennings.



American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 2,712, 2. Danny Jennings 2,662, 3. Cody Branchcomb 2,334, 4. Brian McClelland 2,283, 5. Foster Landon 2,107, 6. Derek Cottrell 2,093, 7. J.P. Bailey 2,078, 8. Kerry McAlister 1,924, 9. Dex Eaton 1,896, 10. Earnest Jennings 1,830.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...