THR Accident

racin4life

I overheard someone who was on the track at the time (not in a racecar) say that he had cuts and blood all over his face, and that there was a bone sticking through his leg at the knee. A broken ankle and rib sounds unrealistic after seeing him thrown through the air flipping end over end. He looked like a rag doll, at least from the stands. It just goes to show that on the track, the safest place to be is inside a racecar! That was a really scary and violent accident to watch.

As a fellow photographer I extend my sympathies for what happened at the race there in Kyle tonight. I was in the infield at SAS today and feared that it could have been me had I been there. I hope that whatever the injuries Mr.Merideth (sp) has that he recovers fully and get well soon. If there is anything I can do for him I would love to.

Deepest Sympathies

Marc Roy

San Antonio Speedpics

I talked with H.E. Naumann a little while before I left the track and he said that Tom had a broken ankle and a broken rib or two. The scan on his head came back as eveything ok. And same with his back. He was taken into surgury for his ankle.

I then talked with Jack Sandefur as I was leaving and he said that Tom was out of surgury.

It was a very scary looking accident to say the least. But, it could have been so much worse then it was. And I Thank the Lord that it wasn't.

I know I will be keeping Tom in my prayers for a speedy recovery.

I hope you all do the same.

It looked like everyone was stacked up on the start. 94 moved over to miss the car in front of him, and lost control or was turned and headed for the dirt. The photo guy had his back to the cars i believe and never saw it coming. It looked real bad and im sure Mr. Merdith is in a world of hurt right now, but last I heard he was doing real good and should be out soon.

Big John