Jump to content

Schniepp, Mullens Lead NCRA Modified Tour into Hutch Nationals This Weekend!


Recommended Posts

Schniepp, Mullens Lead NCRA Modified Tour into Hutch Nationals This Weekend!
Park City, Kansas – July 30, 2018 - Although he currently sits second in the series point standings, Tanner Mullens of Wichita will come into this weekends “Mid-Summer Classic” as one of the hottest drivers on the tour. The former two-time and defending Hutchinson Grand Nationals champion will lead a strong field of National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified division to the Kansas State Fairgrounds and the 62nd running of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Hutchinson Grand Nationals presented by Allen Samuels Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge and Ram of Hutchinson. An open practice session will be held this Thursday night (August 2) before drivers take to the famed half-mile oval on Friday and Saturday night.
Mullens picked up $3000 in the series season opener at 81 Speedway back in April and has division-leading three feature victories on the season. The third-generation driver picked up the Hutch Nationals victory last season and back in 2012.
While feature victories have been Mullens strong suit thus far this season, consistency has been the key to the early-season success for Cody Schniepp. The Wichita driver has seven top ten’s in the seven events held this season and is easily having his best year ever behind the wheel of a modified. Although winless, Schniepp would love nothing more than to take home one of the most prestigious trophies in the region for his first major victory.
Although he struggled early in the season, 2015 Hutch Nationals champion and former two-time series champion Tyler Davis seems to have the gremlins off his back and will be one of the front runners on both Friday and Saturday night.
Former series champion Scott Green sits quietly in the fourth position in the point standings and is also looking for his first-career Hutch title.
Three-time and defending tour champion Dan Powers started the season out strong and second in the standings. However, a rare DNF (25th) in the tours last event has the Wichita driver sitting fifth in the standings, 205-points out of the point lead. Powers is no stranger to the Hutch Nationals championship as he picked up the 2014 version of the “Mid-Summer Classic” and with his ‘no quit’ attitude could make up a lot of ground in the points chase with a thirty-plus field expected and a stop in victory lane.
Sixth place in points is Josh Lanterman, who is also looking to pick up his inaugural Hutch Nationals victory, as are Tad Davis, Bryce Schniepp, Jake Nightingale and Brandon Massey.
Friday night will see double-heat races take place with finishing and passing points making up the championship feature line-ups on Saturday night with the championship feature winner taking home $2000.
An open practice session will be held this Thursday night from 7:00 PM until 9:00 PM. All pit passes will be $10 while grandstand admission for open practice is free.
Gates both night’s will open at 5:00 PM with race time set for a 7:00 PM start time. Grandstand admission each night $22 for adults ages 11 and up; $7 for children ages 6-12. You can obtain $2 off coupons at all area O’Reilly Auto Parts stores. All pit passes are $30 each night.
At the conclusion of Friday night’s event, all fans and drivers will be treated to a free concert featuring the Red Dirt Country band, Jason Callahan.
For more information on all the racing excitement of this 62-year running of the “Mid-Summer Classic,” check out the official facebook page: Hutchinson Grand Nationals Auto Races.
More information on the National Championship Racing Association can be obtained by accessing their official website www.racencra.com and event information can be answered by calling (316) 755-1781.
Past Modified Hutchinson Grand Nationals Champions: 1986 Frank Graven, Cushing, Ok. 1987 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1988 Delbert Smith, Wichita, Ks. 1989 Don Renfro, Wichita, Ks. 1990 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1991 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1992 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1993 Van Gemmil, Ponca City, Ok. 1994 Johnny Allen, Chanute, Ks. 1995 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1996 Buddy Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 1997 Marc Robe, Wichita, Ks. 1998 Dave Hardesty, Minneapolis, Ks. 1999 David Lahey, Moscow, Ks. 2000 John Allen, Chanute, Ks. 2001 Greg Stephens, Wichita, Ks. 2002 David Lahey, Moscow, Ks. 2003 Brent Burkhart, Hutchinson, Ks. 2004 Brian Powers, Wichita, Ks. 2005 Greg Stephens, Wichita, Ks. 2006 Dave Hardesty, Minneapolis, Ks. 2007 Troy Gemmil, Ponca City, Ok. 2008 Marc Hurd, Wichita, Ks. 2009 Brent Burkhart, Hutchinson, Ks. 2010 Marc Hurd, Wichita, Ks. 2011 Brian Franz, Halstead, Ks. 2012 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Ks. 2013 Brian Franz, Halstead, Ks. 2014 Dan Powers, Wichita, Ks. 2015 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Ks. 2016 Brian Franz, Halstead, Ks. 2017 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Ks.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...