Jump to content


Recommended Posts

GRAIN VALLEY, MO (June 2, 2018) - Picking up his first win of 2018 after getting by early leader Mitchell Davis and holding off the challenges of Riley Kreisel through different parts of the 25 lapper, Korey Weyant was victorious at the Valley Speedway on Saturday night with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprints.
Davis led the first handful of laps as Weyant moved forward and made his way past the young driver from Auburn, Illinois. Also on the move was Kreisel as he would work his way past Davis for the second spot.
Weyant continued to lead as Kreisel ate into his lead lap by lap. In heavy lapped traffic, the two put on a great battle for the top spot with Kreisel running the low line and Weyant the top side. This would continue for a few laps until Kreisel's car popped out of gear allowing Weyant some breathing room.
Kreisel again worked his way back to Weyant when the yellow flag waved for the first time with 20 laps complete for a Chad Tye spin in turn one. With only one lapped car in between himself and Kreisel, Weyant got a great start and as Kreisel went into turn one he went over the bank allowing a large number of cars to get past.
Weyant continued his strong run over the last five laps and picked up his league-best twelfth career win with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprints in his Tosti's Transmission/Mahan's Fiberglass/Weeble's Bar and Grill Eagle with Automotive Machine power.
Chad Goff made a late run to finish a strong second in his B&D Racing/ Loftus Chimney Sweeping MRP with Mopar power. Davis ran a solid third in his Iola Motorsports/ CJ Motorsports Eagle. Kreisel would work his way back up to fourth in his Smith Motorsports/Weather Tech Renovations/Advantec Dyno Service XXX with Engine Connection power. Rounding out the top five was Wyatt Burks in the Clem Signs/ Bumper to Bumper/Jadon's Hope Foundation Maxim with Salina power.
Running sixth was eighteenth-starting Joe B. Miller in the Matt McGarry Motorsports MRP Chassis with Gaerte power earning him the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger. Terry Richards was seventh as he was followed by Chris Parkinson. Rounding out the top ten were twentieth-starting Wesley Smith and Craig Carroll.. Heat races for the 32 car field were won by Davis, Kreisel, TJ Artz, and Burks while Ty Hulsey won the B-Main. Josh Stephens climbed the right rear of Ryan Kent in heat race number three sending the Buckner, MO driver into a series of wild flips in turns three and four. Stephens climbed from his car but was later transported to a local hospital for further evaluation.
The POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprints will next be in action on Saturday, June 16 at the Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Missouri.
The POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Wildcard Sprints will be in action this Tuesday, June 5 at the Fairbury American Legion Speedway in Fairbury, Illinois along with the World of Outlaws. This show is a make-up from last Wednesday's show that was rained out.
The scheduled show for Thursday, June 7 at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Illinois has been deleted from the schedule, but the WAR Wildcard Sprints will be at the Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, Illinois on Friday, June 8 as part of the POWRi Illinois Speedweek. The following night, Saturday, June 9, the WAR Wildcard Sprints will make their first-ever appearance at the Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Indiana in a co-sanctioned event with the Midwest Sprint Car Series.
POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint Car League
Valley Speedway - 32 cars
Hinchman Racewear 1st Heat - 8 laps
1. 56-Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL (1); 2. 65-Chris Parkinson, Gladstone, MO (2); 3. 18-Terry Richards, Denton, NE (6); 4. 24C-Craig Carroll, Collinsville, OK (4); 5. 22S-Slater Helt, Cactus Flats, MO (8); 6. 31-Joe B. Miller, Millersville, MO (7); 7. 41-Brad Wyatt, Kearney, MO (4); 8. 82C-Christi Thomason, Holden, MO (3);
Bell Helmets 2nd Heat - 8 laps
1. 90-Riley Kreisel, Warsaw, MO (1); 2. 9-Chad Goff, Spring Hill, KS (2); 3. 77K-Katlynn Leer, Moulton, IA (3); 4. 24H-Ty Hulsey, Owasso, OK (4); 5. 43-Frank Brown, Marshall, MO (6); 6. 73S-Lane Stone, Concordia, MO (7); 7. 49B-Ben Brown, Marshall, MO (5); 8. 82-Vinny Ward, Springfield, IL (8)

Schure Built Suspensions 3rd Heat - 8 laps
1. 57-TJ Artz, Lincoln, NE (1); 2. 88-Chad Tye, Independence, MO (6); 3. 30-Ryan Kent, Blue Springs, MO (2); 4. 73-Samuel Wagner, Lone Jack, MO (5); 5. 12-Wesley Smith, Nixa, MO (7); 6. 16-Anthony Nicholson, Millington, TN (8); 7. 2H-Luke Howard, Overland Park, KS (3); 8. 13-Josh Stephens, Buckner, MO (4)-DNF
Wilwood Disc Brakes 4th Heat - 8 laps
1. 11W-Wyatt Burks, Topeka, KS (1); 2. 99-Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL (5); 3. 9X-Casey Baker, Lone Jack, MO (4); 4. 38-Cody Baker, Lone Jack, MO (3); 5. 15B-Quinton Benson, Sweet Springs, MO (8); 6. 77-Jack Wagner, Lone Jack, MO (7); 7. 37-Brian Beebe, Oak Grove, MO (2); 8. 23-Brent Fasse, Independence, MO (6)
B-Main - 12 laps
1. 24H-Ty Hulsey (2); 2. 31-Joe B. Miller (6); 3. 38-Cody Baker (2); 4. 12-Wesley Smith (1); 5. 77-Jack Wagner (8); 6. 43-Frank Brown (4); 7. 16-Anthony Nicholson (5); 8. 41-Brad Wyatt (10); 9. 37-Brian Beebe (13); 10. 73S-Lane Stone (7): 11. 23-Brent Fasse (14); 12. 82-Vinny Ward (12); 13. 49B-Ben Brown (9); 14. 2H-Luke Howard (11); 15. 82B-Christi Thomason (15) DNS: 13-Josh Stephens
POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprints A-Main - 25 laps
1. 99-Korey Weyant (3); 2. 9-Chad Goff (9); 3. 56-Mitchell Davis (1); 4. 90-Riley Kreisel (5); 5. 11W-Wyatt Burks (7); 6. 31-Joe B. Miller (18); 7. 18-Terry Richards (2); 8. 65-Chris Parkinson (8); 9. 12-Wesley Smith (20); 10. 24C-Craig Carroll (15); 11. 38-Cody Baker (19); 12. 77K-Katlynn Leer (13); 13. 15B-Quinton Benson (12); 14. 22S-Slater Helt (11); 15. 73-Samuel Wagner (16); 16. 9X-Casey Baker (10); 17. 88-Chad Tye (4); 18. 24H-Ty Hulsey (17); 19. 30-Ryan Kent (14); 20. 57-TJ Artz (6)
Article Credit: Chad Buford
Photo Credit: Redlined Photography
Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...