Jump to content

Casey's Crew for 2017 USMTS Hunt for the Casey's Cup


Recommended Posts

Crapser, Myers, Thornton comprise Casey's Crew for 2017 USMTS Hunt for the Casey's Cup


WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (July 31)--Casey's General Stores and the United States Modified Touring Series are celebrating the tenth year of their partnership in 2017, and for the tenth straight season three USMTS competitors will comprise the Casey's Crew during this year's Hunt for the USMTS Casey's Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental.

Cory Crapser, Curt Myers and Ricky Thornton Jr. will each carry an associate sponsorship from Casey's General Stores during the championship series, and primary sponsorship from one of three popular brands available in thousands of Casey's General Store locations across America.


Myers of Cameron, Wis., will be piloting the Snickers-sponsored car this year. Myers, who finished fifth in the 2010 USMTS rookie points, has competed in Wissota Super Stocks for the past several seasons but returned to the cockpit of a Modified this year. The driver of the No. 1M GRT Race Cars chassis focused on the RHRSwag.com Northern Region where he placed ninth in the final standings.


Crapser, driver of the No. 07 MB Customs machine, will be enjoying a second season in the Casey's Crew. The Chippewa Falls, Wis., driver will be representing new Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade. Crapser was a Casey's Crew driver two years ago and won his first USMTS feature at the Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa, that year.


The third driver in the Casey's Crew for 2017 is last year's Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year Award winner, Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz. His No. 20RT Larry Shaw Race Cars Modified will sport the livery for Double Stuf Oreo. He already has multiple wins this season, and hopes to add a USMTS national title to his glowing resume before October.


Each driver will appear at several Casey's General Store locations near the tracks that the USMTS will visit during The Hunt, and will be handing out samples and coupons to fans during radio remotes from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at most stores.


Drivers in the Casey's Crew are selected based on several criteria including, but not limited to, accomplishments both inside and outside of the cockpit, popularity among both fans and fellow competitors and the ability to represent themselves, Casey's General Stores, the USMTS and their participating brands in a positive manner.


Be sure to stop by Casey's General Store before and after the races for all your supplies and needs. And don't forget to pick up your $2-off general admission coupons which are available on race day at most events during The Hunt.


To learn more about Casey's General Stores or to find the location nearest you, visit them online at caseys.com.


Aug. 3 - Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 4 - Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 5 - Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 6 - Monett Speedway, Monett, Mo., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 9 - Brown County Speedway, Aberdeen, S.D., ($3,200 to win)
Aug. 10 - Red Cedar Speedway, Menomonie, Wis., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 11 - Amsoil Speedway, Superior, Wis., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 12 - Ogilvie Raceway, Ogilvie, Minn., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 13 - Mason City Motor Speedway, Mason City, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 16 - Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 17 - Scotland County Speedway, Memphis, Mo., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 18 - Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan., ($10,002 to win)
Aug. 19 - Salina Highbanks Speedway, Pryor Creek, Okla., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 20 - 81 Speedway, Park City, Kan., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 24 - Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 25 - Rapid Speedway, Rock Rapids, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 26 - Park Jefferson Speedway, Jefferson, S.D., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 27 - Casino Speedway, Watertown, S.D., ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 30 - Kossuth County Speedway, Algona, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Aug. 31 - Fairmont Raceway, Fairmont, Minn., ($3,000 to win)
Sept. 1 - Fayette County Speedway, West Union, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Sept. 2 - Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn., ($3,000 to win)
Sept. 3 - Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa, ($3,000 to win)
Sept. 21 - Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn., ($5,000 to win)


At the conclusion of The Hunt on Thursday, Sept. 21, following the first night of the 19th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree, the 2017 USMTS national champion will be crowned and earn $26,000 for his or her efforts.


A whopping 23 races in 32 days lies ahead between now and Labor Day Weekend, with the opening weekend of The Hunt for the USMTS Casey's Cup at the Springfield Raceway in Springfield, Mo., on Thursday, Aug. 3. The series moves to the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kan., on Friday, Aug. 4, and then the beautiful Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., on Saturday, Aug, 5, before finishing up on Sunday, Aug. 6, at the Monett Motor Speedway in Monett, Mo.


To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit www.usmts.com online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usmts, follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/usmts and Instagram at www.instagram.com/usmts or subscribe to our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usmtstv. Keep up to speed with everything USMTS by joining our email list at www.usmts.com/subscribe.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...