Jump to content

$4000 Hutch Nationals for NCRA Sprints This Weekend!


Recommended Posts

$4000 Hutch Nationals for NCRA Sprints This Weekend!

Park City, Kansas – July 10, 2017 - A tight-points battle and prestige await the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360-ci sprint car division as the historic 61st annual O’Reilly Auto Parts Hutchinson Grand Nationals presented by Midwest Super Store of Hutchinson takes place this coming Friday and Saturday night, July 14-15, atop the famed half-mile fairgrounds oval of the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

$4000 will await Saturday night’s championship feature winner with drivers making the twenty-four-car finale earning $400. An open practice session will be held on Thursday night from 7:00 PM until 9:00 PM.

Defending tour champion Don Droud, Jr. of Lincoln, Nebraska will come into the weekend with a very slim five-point lead over former two-time series champion Jeremy Campbell. Norman, Oklahoma veteran Danny Jennings sits third in the standings, just 60 points out of the top spot while Jon Freeman and Forrest Southerland round out the top five.

Sixth through tenth in the standings are Jeff Stasa, J.D. Johnson, Fred Mattox, Jake Greider and Josh Fairbank.
NCRA Feature winners thus far this season, after four events, are Joe Wood, Jr., Jason Martin, Campbell and Mattox – who picked up his first career series victory back on July 1 at 81 Speedway in Park City.

Danny Wood of Norman is the defending Hutchinson Grand Nationals champion for the NCRA sprint car series and is not expected to defend his Nationals championship. Drivers in the current top ten in the point standings who have Hutch Nationals victories include Jennings and Johnson (2), Campbell (1) and Freeman.

It all begins on Friday night with double-heat races with the top drivers in finishing and passing points in both heat races tabulated to set up Saturday night’s last chance and championship feature finale line-ups.
Saturday night’s championship purse is as follows:

Championship Feature: 1) $4000, 2) $2500, 3) $2000, 4) $1500, 5) $1000, 6) $800, 7) $700, 8) $600, 9-13) $500, 14-18) $450, 19-24) $400

Drivers must compete on Friday night to be eligible for the above payout.

Pit gates open both night’s at 4:00 PM; Ticket office and grandstand gates open at 5:00 PM; Hot Laps at 6:00 PM; Racing at 7:00 PM.

Grandstand general admission for ages 12 and up $20, free for ages 11 and under. $2 off coupons can be obtained at any O’Reilly Auto Parts stores in the Hutchinson area. All pit passes are $30.

For more information on the Hutchinson Grand Nationals, check out the events official facebook page: Hutchinson Grand Nationals Auto Races. For official NCRA rules check out the series official website www.racencra.com. For street stock, thumper. AAA and rookie modified rules go to www.race81speedway.com. For more Hutchinson Grand Nationals information call (316) 755-1781.

Past NCRA 360 Hutch Nationals Champions: 1989 Jim Selenke, Wichita, Ks. 1990 Garry Lee Maier, Dodge City, Ks. 1991 Garry Lee Maier, Dodge City, Ks. 1992 Garry Lee Maier, Dodge City, Ks. 1993 Scott Brown, Amarillo, Tx. 1994 Mike Peters, Wichita, Ks. 1995 Clay Bontrager, Hutchinson, Ks. 1996 Danny Jennings, Norman, Ok. 1997 Mike Peters, Wichita, Ks. 1998 Shelby Steenson 1999 Clay Bontrager, Hutchinson, Ks. 2000 C.J. Johnson, Quinter, Ks. 2001 Dennis Park, Liberal, Ks. 2002 C.J. Johnson, Quinter, Ks. 2003 C.J. Johnson, Quinter, Ks. 2004 Steve King, Jetmore, Ks. 2005 Derek Drown, Amarillo, Tx. 2006 J.D. Johnson, Wichita, Ks. 2007 Jon Freeman, Salina, Ks. 2008 Mike Chadd, Lincoln, Ne. 2009 Garry Lee Maier, Dodge City, Ks. 2010 Danny Jennings, Norman, Ok. 2011 Jordan Boston, Lincoln, Ne. 2012 Jeremy Campbell, Wichita, Ks. 2013 Jack Dover, Springfield, Ne. 2014 Jack Dover, Springfield, Ne. 2015 J.D. Johnson, Wichita, Ks. 2016 Danny Wood, Norman, Ok.

Current 2017 NCRA Sprint Car Point Standings: 1) Don Droud, Jr. 1115, 2) Jeremy Campbell 1110, 3) Danny Jennings 1055, 4) Jon Freeman 1030, 5) Forrest Southerland 955, 6) Jeff Stasa 890., 7) J.D. Johnson 740, 8) Fred Mattox 735, 9) Jake Greider 710, 10) Josh Fairbanks 660

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...