Jump to content

Koch Leads Sprint Series of Oklahoma to Wichita Speedway Friday!


Recommended Posts

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma – April 23, 2017 - After two consecutive rainouts, the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series presented by Smiley’s Racing Products will look to get the second race of the 2017 under their belts as they make the first of two appearances of the season at Wichita Speedway in Wichita Falls, Texas this coming Friday night. This event will be part of the tracks “Sprint Spring Fling.”

Local resident and current series point leader Chad Koch will look to add a second victory to his resume as he leads a talent-laden field of veteran and rookies to the quarter-mile clay oval.

Pauls Valley’s Gary Owens currently sits second in the SSO points, just one point out of the point lead, while Michael Day, Jake Martens and Michelle Melton round out the top five.
Drivers six through ten in the current point standings are also expected, including Joe Wood, Jr., Dale Wester, Brandon Long, Zach Blurton and Jesse “Chip” Graham.

Other touring regulars expected include defending series and IMCA national champion Andy Shouse, Cody Whitworth, Loyd Clevenger, Shayla Waddell, Jerry Jumper, Chris Kelly, Blake Baccus and Blake Scott. A strong field of rookie of the year contenders will be on hand, including Dillon Laden, Josh Toho and Tanner Conn.

Wichita Speedway is only charging $15 for adult grandstand admission while seniors/military/police and fire general admission tickets are just $12. Kids ages 6-10 get in for just $10.

The track is located on the western edge of Wichita Falls. From either direction of I-44 in Wichita Falls, take Hwy 287 west out of town about 3 miles until you see the Highway 369 exit. Turn north (right) on Highway 369 and you will see the track about 1 mile ahead on the right. Get up-to-date race information on the tracks official facebook page: Wichita Speedway. Also check out the tracks official website www.wichitaracewaypark.com.

Attention all sprint car drivers. With the special start time of 8:00 PM for this event, drivers meeting will be held at 6:00 PM. If you are on your way and going to be late, please call Jim or Ernie Messmer at the numbers provided below.

To learn more about the Sprint Series of Oklahoma check out their official facebook page: Sprint Series of Oklahoma. More information can be obtained by SSO director Jim Messmer (405) 417-2202 and for technical inquires call Ernie Messmer (405) 818-9007. Keep track of daily updates from the SSO on the series official facebook page: Sprint Series of Oklahoma.

SSO officials would like to welcome Smiley’s Racing Products for becoming presenting partner with the series as they will be giving $1000 cash to the 2017 SSO champion.

The series would also like to thank the following for climbing aboard as contingency partners with the series for 2017: Hoosier Racing Tires, Danny Holloway, Martens Machine Shop, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotech Race Cells, Outlaw Wings, Keizer Wheels, Bishops Racing Products and Messmer Racing.

Current 2017 Sprint Series of Oklahoma presented by Smiley's Racing Products point standings as of March 25:

1) Chad Koch 40; 2) Gary Owens 39; 3) Michael Day 38; 4) Jake Martens 37; 5) Michelle Melton 35; 6) Joe Wood Jr. 34; 7) Dale Wester 32; 8) Brandon Long 31; 9) Zach Blurton 30; 10) Jesse "Chip" Graham 29; 11) Loyd Clevenger 28; 12) Josh Toho 26; 13) Dillon Laden 25; 14) Robert Vetter 24; 15) Chris Kelly 22; 16) Andy Shouse 21; 17) Shayla Waddell 16; 18) Jerry Jumper 14; 19) Tanner Conn 13; 20) Blake Baccus 12

Past SSO Winners at Wichita Speedway: John Carney II (2), Long.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...