Jump to content

MSD Central Region tripleheader on tap for USMTS


Recommended Posts

MSD Central Region tripleheader on tap for USMTS

ATCHISON, Kan. (April 14) -- After a 26-day break, the USMTS road warriors will get back after it April 20-22 for three races in the MSD Central Region presented by Summit Racing Equipment.

The weekend tripleheader features stops at the 1/5-mile Atchison County Raceway bullring in Atchison, Kan., followed up the next day at the big half-mile Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., and then a visit to the 3/8-mile dirt oval at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo.

Action kicks off at the Atchison County Raceway, and fans at last year's event saw a remarkable 50-lap feature at "The Cage" won by Cade Dillard with only a few cautions which, according to USMTS driver Dereck Ramirez, were needed to catch your breath.

"You don't need a ton of horsepower to perform at the Atchison County Raceway, and you'll need all of your concentration to think about the next corner," said USMTS promoter Todd Staley. "The racing here is intense and, honestly, if you are a real racer or race fan you should be at this show."

E-Mods will complete the card at "The Cage."

The Atchison County Raceway is located 2.0 miles north of Atchison on Sedgewick Rd. (past 302nd St.). For more information, call (913) 370-2520 and see www.acraceway.com online.

Fans can pick up $2-off discount coupon at Casey's General Stores locations in Atchison, Highland, Leavenworth, Platte City, St. Joseph and Wathena. To find the location nearest you, visit www.caseys.com.

On Friday, April 21, the tireless USMTS touring titans trek to the Lakeside Speedway for the first time since last year's Grant Junghans Memorial.

This will be the 18th event held at the historic speedplant near the banks of the Missouri River since Ryan Gustin won the inaugural race in 2012-his only triumph at Lakeside.

Terry Phillips leads all drivers with four victories while Jeremy Payne and Rodney Sanders are three-time winners here. Nic Bidinger, Matt Dotson, Jesse Sobbing, Ricky Thornton Jr., Aaron Marrant and Schott have one apiece.

The Iron Man Challenge featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will share the spotlight along with local Grand Nationals and Factory Stocks in action.

Fans can save $2 off admission by picking up a commemorative discount coupon at Casey's General Stores locations in Basehor. Belton. Blue Springs. De Soto. Grain Valley. Independence. Kansas City. Kearney. Lees Summit. Lenexa. Overland Park. Shawnee and Smithville. To find the location nearest you, visit www.caseys.com.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). For more information, call (913) 299-9206 or visit www.lakesidespeedway.net.

The curtain closes on Saturday, April 22, with the 17th trip in 15 years to the I-35 Speedway.

Five main events were held here in 2002 at the former Winston Speedway with Kelly Shryock winning three of them and the other two checkered flags waving for John Allen and John Van Den Berg.

Gustin has a series-best three wins at the I-35 Speedway and joins Shryock as the only multi-time winner. Other feature winners include Scott Drake, Mark Noble, Johnny Scott, Ron Ver Beek, Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders and Jason Hughes got his first win here last July.

The four-division card will be rounded out by the Iron Man Challenge featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods plus E-Mods.

Fans can pick up $2-off discount coupon at Casey's General Stores locations in Albany, Bethany, Braymer, Cameron, Chillicothe, Gallatin, Hamilton, King City, Lathrop, Lawson, Maysville, Polo and Trenton. To find the location nearest you, visit www.caseys.com.

The I-35 Speedway is a semi-banked 3/8-mile dirt oval located 10 miles north of Cameron on SR 6 (Exit 64). For more information, call 660-749-5317 or check out their website at www.i-35speedway.net.

All three shows will see pit gates opening at 4 p.m. with grandstands swinging open at 5 and the first heat race at 7:30. Adult grandstand tickets are $20 each night, youth ages 12-16 are $10 and kids ages 11 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $35 each night.

1. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. ... 95
2. 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn. ... 91
3. 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. ... 84
4. 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo. ... 81
5. 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. ... 78
6. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. ... 76
7. 2s Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. ... 72
8. 20r Bryan Rowland, Woodward, Okla. ... 70
9. 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. ... 68
10. 62 Hunter Marriott, Brooking, Mo. ... 66
11. 49jr Jake Timm, Winona, Minn. ... 64
12. 4 Billy Vogel, Fargo, N.D. ... 60
13. 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa ... 58
14. 4 Dan Powers, Wichita, Kan. ... 55
15. 81 Mike Densberger, Lincoln, Neb. ... 54
Other winners:
1 Mitch Keeter, Webb City, Mo. (1 win)

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit www.usmts.com online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usmts, follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/usmts and Instagram at www.instagram.com/usmts or subscribe to our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usmtstv. Keep up to speed with everything USMTS by joining our email list at www.usmts.com/subscribe.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...