Jump to content

Park City Cup Event Tidbits!


Recommended Posts

Park City Cup Event Tidbits!

Park City, Kansas – March 22, 2017 - This weekend’s running of the seventh annual “Park City Cup/Air Capital Shootout” is shaping up to be the biggest and largest attending event since its inception back in 2011. Absolutely the best sprint car drivers throughout the Midwest will invade 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas this Thursday through Saturday night in preparation of making Saturday night’s championship feature finale the pays $15,000 to win and an impressive $1000 just to start the twenty-two-car feature. This event will kick off the 2017 National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360-ci sprint car season and their thirteen events that are slated.

Below are some Air Capital Shootout tidbits that you may not know:

118 drivers have competed in at least one Park City Cup/Air Capital Shootout events during the previous six years running.

Six drivers have competed in all six events that have been held. They include Danny Lasoski, Luke Cranston, Jon Freeman, C.J. Johnson, Jeremy Campbell, Jeff Stasa.

C.J. Johnson and Jeremy Campbell are the only two drivers who have made all six championship features.

Previous event winners include: Danny Lasoski (2011; 2015), Jason Johnson (2012; 2013), Kevin Swindell (2014); Derek Hagar (2016).

The highest car count was the inaugural event, 49 cars back in 2011 and the lowest, 38 cars, in 2013 and 2016.

Eight drivers have led at least one lap in the championship finale with Lasoski leading the way with 69 laps led. 2016 event winner Derek Hagar has led 35 laps and Don Droud, Jr. has led 24 laps.

The inaugural event, back in 2011 saw the winner earn $2,000; $4000 back in 2012; $5,000 in 2013 and 2014; $6000 in 2015 and $10,000 in 2016.

Track record for sprint cars is 13.33 seconds , set by Sammy Swindell back in 2015.

Thursday night will see a special time trial session from 7:00 PM until 10:00 PM as well as open practice for all drivers participating in the largest purse in series history.

Friday night will see gates open at 5:00 PM with racing set for a 7:00 PM start time with a complete set of heat races, last chance features and the night’s feature finale that will pay $1500 to win.

Championship Saturday night will see gates again open at 5:00 PM with racing set for 7:00 PM, a complete set of heat and last chance races followed by the $15,000 to win championship finale.

More race information can be found on the tracks official website www.race81speedway.com; the tracks official facebook page: Race 81 Speedway and by calling the speedway office (316) 755-1781.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...