Jump to content

A-Line DCRST wraps with Vikre winner & Young champion

Recommended Posts

(Kyle, TX) The 2016 A-Line Dwarf Car Racing Series of Texas racing season came to a dramatic end Saturday night at Central Texas Speedway. Point contenders Rusty Young (88) and Drew Simental (37) entered the final weekend 15 points apart and many of the top 10 spots were still to be decided. 25 cars entered the pit game on a chamber of commerce Saturday for racing. In the 25 lap main event Matt Goulais (39) jumped to an early lead and continued that pace through early caution periods and a long green flag span as Simental moved through the field into the top 5. Young worked through the pack as well but suffered a flat tire around the mid point of the action but continued on the track and at speed. With 3 laps to go Dwain Groff (41) and Ty Paxon (15) touched in turn 3 and spun as everyone avoided., on the re-stack and green Zac Zearfoss (53) and Gary Buchanan (99) got together in the same spot that set up a third attempt at the green, white, checkered.

Goulais jumped to the advantage with Simental in tow as Arden Vikre (72) made a great inside move to third. Goulais crossed the stripe ahead of a mad pack but post race technical violation put Vikre (72) in victory circle for a second time in 2016 on his birthday. Rodney Rodriguez (4), Simental, Butch Havelka (27) and Young rounded out the top 5. With that slight separation between the two contenders Young claimed his second consecutive A-Line DCRST Championship. Groff, Chris Silvas (85), Tyler Folkerts (42), Buchanan and Dylan Budnik rounded out the fierce top 10.
Jim Kritikos (5), Zearfoss and Dillon Coyne (12) claimed heat race wins early in the afternoon.

Sunday DCRST honored season champions and presented special awards at the annual meeting. Champion Rusty Young, second place finisher Drew Simental and third place finisher Ryan Stoy were recognized and awarded championship trophies. James Fitzgerald was awarded Rookie of the Year and was also voted Sportsman of the Year by DCRST drivers. A-Line Auto Parts was awarded a title sponsor award for their title sponsorship and contributions to DCRST. Mike Paxson and Moore Electic received a sponsorship award as well, the series also recognized Geno Simental for his valuable website, social media and graphic contributions.

After a mega successful and competitive racing season the A-Line DCRST is working on 2017 racing season details and will release preview information soon. Follow the series at www.alinedcrst.com and on Facebook. Series sponsor A-Line Auto Parts information is available at www.ALINEAUTO.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...