Jump to content

ASCS Championship Chases roll into John Christner Trucking Fall Fling


Recommended Posts

ASCS Championship Chases roll into John Christner Trucking Fall Fling


TULSA, Okla. (November 2, 2016) The John Christner Trucking Fall Fling featuring the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network and Lucas Oil POWRi West Midgets is ready to roll with action on Friday, November 4 and Saturday, November 5 at the Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Okla.


With a solid field of drivers from as far away as Washington and Montana making their way to the "Sooner State" for the two day affair, the J.C.T. Fall Fling will be preceded by an open practice on Thursday, November 3.


While the Midgets are running simply for money and bragging rights, ASCS competition is another step in the championship chase for the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour, and the final stop for the 2016 lineup with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products.


For the Red River Region, the weekend is about keeping out of trouble for Tennessee's Brandon Hanks, who carries a 123 point advantage into the series season finale. If Hanks can make it through Friday night, he'll clinch his first ASCS title.


On the National side of competition, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. rolls into the weekend 198 points to the good. In the series last outing at the Sapulpa, Okla. oval on June 16, Hafertepe ran to a third place finish. Being chased by Johnny Herrera, the New Mexico native posted a fifth place finish in the Speedweek event.


In 20 National Tour visits since 1993, neither of the top two drivers have posted a National Tour win at the Creek County Speedway. Regionally however, Herrera has one win with the Red River Region at Creek on April 10, 2015.


Including this weekend's Fall Fling, four nights of racing remain on the 2016 Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour lineup with the series wrapping up their 25th year of competition at the Cocopah Speedway in Somerton, Ariz. on Friday, November 11 and Saturday, November 12. The 2016 finale will be paired with the Carlyle Tools ASCS Southwest Region and will be filmed by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.


Taking place Friday, November 4 and Saturday, November 5 the POWRi West Midgets will run two complete nights of racing with Friday's A-Feature offering $1,500 to win, $150 to start. Saturday will see that amount increased to $2,000 to win, $200 to start. All Non-Qualifiers will get $50 both nights.


For the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, Friday's A-Feature will be $3,000 to win, $400 to start affair with Saturday's upping the payout to $4,000 to win, $400 to start. Along with the Lucas Oil ASCS, the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products will co-sanction the event.


Adding to the mix, Wesmar Racing Engines has kicked in a Shaver/Wesmar Gear Drive for the driver who passes the most cars overall in A-Feature competition. Lightning Wings has also put a Top Wing up for grabs for the first person who ends up on their lid.


The birthplace of the ASCS rules package, Creek County Speedway is a quarter-mile egg shaped oval situated along old Route 66 between Kellyville and Sapulpa. For more information on Creek County Speedway, log onto http://www.creekcountyspeedway.co.


For information on the Lucas Oil POWRi West Midgets, log onto http://www.powri.com. For continued updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Event Information:

Who: Lucas Oil ASCS / POWRi West Midgets
What: John Christner Trucking Fall Fling
Where: Creek County Speedway - Sapulpa, Okla.
When: November 4-5, 2016
Times: Gates Open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:00 P.M. (CDT)

ASCS/Creek County Speedway Contact Information:

Phone: (918) 838-3777
Website: http://www.ascsracing.com
Email: info@ascsracing.com
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/LucasOilASCS
Address: 18450 W Highway 66 Sapulpa, OK 74039


Admission Prices:

Practice: Thursday, November 3, 2016
Grandstands: Free
Pits: $15

Night 1: Friday, November 4, 2016
Grandstands: $20
Kids 10-14: $10
Pits: $30

Night 2: Saturday, November 5, 2016
Grandstands: $25
Kids 10-14: $10
Pits: $35


2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 4,541; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,343; 3. Wayne Johnson 4,116; 4. Blake Hahn 3,992; 5. Matt Covington 3,922; 6. Logan Forler 3,864; 7. Aaron Reutzel 3,756; 8. Seth Bergman 3,470; 9. Josh Baughman 2,968; 10. Kyle Bellm 2,771;


2016 ASCS National Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 7 (5/13 - Texas Motor Speedway; 6/12 - Rt. 66 Motor Speedway; 6/18 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 6/25 - Skagit Speedway; 7/1 - Grays Harbor Raceway; 7/2 - Grays Harbor Raceway; 8/20 - St. Francois County Raceway); Johnny Herrera 6 (3/17-Heart O' Texas Speedway; 6/3-Hartford Speedway; 7/22 - Black Hills Speedway; 7/23 - Black Hills Speedway; 9/22 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 10-15 - Devil's Bowl Speedway); Blake Hahn 3 (7/8 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/9 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/28 - Park Jefferson Speedway); Wayne Johnson 3 (3/19 - Devil's Bowl Speedway; 9/23 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 9/24 - Lucas Oil Speedway) Brian Brown 2 (5/5 - Lakeside Speedway; 8/21 - Missouri State Fair Speedway); Brad Loyet 2 (6/15 - Lawton Speedway; 6/17 - Mo. State Fair Speedway); Bryan Clauson 2 (6/16 - Creek County Speedway; 7/31 - Badlands Motor Speedway); Aaron Reutzel 2 (5/14 - Texas Motor Speedway; 9/4 - Jackson Motorplex); Brandon Hanks 1 (3/25-Cotton Bowl Speedway); Josh Baughman 1 (3/26 - Bronco Raceway Park); Marc Duperron 1 (6/24 - Skagit Speedway); Jamie Ball 1 (8/4 - Knoxville Raceway); Jamie Veal 1 (8/5 - Knoxville Raceway); Sammy Swindell 1 (8/6 - Knoxville Raceway); Ian Madsen 1 (9/2 - Jackson Motorplex); Terry McCarl 1 (10/1 - I-80 Speedway); John Carney II (10/16 - Devil's Bowl Speedway)


ASCS National Drivers Online:

Josh Baughman: http://www.joshbaughman.com
Kyle Bellm: http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman: http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Matt Covington: http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr.: http://www.sam15.com
Blake Hahn: http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Johnny Herrera: http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson: https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Logan Forler: https://twitter.com/ForlerRacing
Brad Loyet: http://www.loyetmotorsports.com
Aaron Reutzel: http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Steven Russell: https://www.facebook.com/steven.russell.71066?fref=ts


ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series: http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast: http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...