Jump to content

McAninch Wins Season Finale, Green Earns NCRA Modified Title!


Recommended Posts

McAninch Wins Season Finale, Green Earns NCRA Modified Title!

Salina, Oklahoma - October 22, 2016 - While Ryan McAninch held to take his third victory of the season, Scott Green held on to claim the series championship as the 19th consecutive season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified division came to an end Saturday night at Salina Speedway in Salina, Kansas.

Jason McGehee and Joe Cleveland started on the front row for the twenty-five lap feature with Cleveland taking the lead on the initial start, which quickly went red when McGehee executed a complete roll-over that collected several cars entering turn one. He was uninjured and restart at the tail of the field on the complete restart.

Cleveland jumped out in front on the complete restart with third starting Brian Franz, Green, McAninch and Tyler Davis the top five after one lap was complete. After a quick caution on lap two, Cleveland, who announced to series officials his intentions on competing full-time with the series in 2017, kept the pace out front and an eight car length lead over Franz. Green would move into the third on lap four and would stay close to the front runners as Cleveland began reaching slower cars on lap eight. That is when the first of three consecutive cautions fell and once race action resumed, the complexion of the race changed as Cleveland would lose power entering turns one and two after nine laps were completed to bring out the caution.

McAninch chose the bottom and Franz chose the top on the double-file restart and that position proved beneficial for McAninch as he would take the lead over Franz. Green, tenth starting Kirby Robe and “B” feature winner Dan Powers were the top five with ten laps to go with McAninch holding on to a ten car length lead.

His lead would grow to a half-stretch as Franz and Robe battled for second. Powers, who came into the feature finale just ten points behind Green in his quest for his third straight championship, had to finish two positions better than Green in order to tie for the title, was doing his part as he moved into the third position with three laps to go.

However, one lap later Powers would spin in turn four to bring out the night’s final caution flag, virtually locking up the point championship for Green.

On the final restart McAninch would edge past Franz on the high-side exiting turn two to hold on to the lead but the former five-time tour champion stayed on his rear bumper and coming down for the checkered flag, McAninch would hold on to take the one car length victory.

Robe would finish a solid third while Ross Shipman, who started dead last of the twenty-car feature finale, came through the field to finish fourth. Green held on for fifth and that was enough for him to win the championship by just thirty points over Powers. Clint McFadden also locked up the tours rookie of the year honors.
Green, McFadden and the rest of the final top ten in the point standings will officially be awarded at the series banquet in late January of 2017.

NCRA Modifieds

Salina Speedway/Salina, Kansas


23 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Joe Cleveland (Delphos, Ks), 2) Mike Petersille, 3) Ryan McAninch (Hutchinson, Ks), 4) Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 5) Jake Nightingale (Hutchinson, Ks), 6) Tyler Frye (Belleville, Ks), 7) Kyle Rohleder, 8) Josh Lanterman (Derby, Ks)

2nd Heat: 1) Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 2) Scott Green (Derby, Ks), 3) Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 4) Tyler Davis (Haysville, Ks), 5) Cuyler Calkin (Wichita, Ks), 6) Edward Leecy (Derby, Ks), 7) Johnny Whitmore (Wichita, Ks), 8) Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks)

3rd Heat: 1) Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 2) Clint McFadden (Valley Center, Ks), 3) Kirby Robe (Goddard, Ks), 4) William Nusser, 5) James Weve (Hutchinson, Ks), 6) Heath Steffen (Hutchinson, Ks), 7) Fred Traskowsky (Herrington, Ks)

B Feature: 1) Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 2) Jake Nightingale (Hutchinson, Ks), 3) Tyler Frye (Belleville, Ks), 4) Edward Leecy (Derby, Ks), 5) William Nusser, 6) Kyle Rohleder, 7) Johnny Whitmore (Wichita, Ks), 8) Josh Lanterman (Derby, Ks), 9) Rick McReynolds (Arlington, Ks), 10) Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 11) James Weve (Hutchinson, Ks), 12) Fred Traskowsky (Herrington, Ks)

A Feature: 1) Ryan McAninch (Hutchinson, Ks), 2) Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 3) Kirby Robe (Goddard, Ks), 4) Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 5) Scott Green (Derby, Ks), 6) Josh Lanterman (Derby, Ks), 7) Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 8) Jake Nightingale (Hutchinson, Ks), 9) Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 10) Clint McFadden (Valley Center, Ks), 11) Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 12) Kyle Rohleder, 13) William Nusser, 14) Edward Leecy (Derby, Ks), 15) Joe Cleveland (Delphos, Ks), 16) Tyler Davis (Haysville, Ks), 17) Mike Petersille, 18) Tyler Frye (Belleville, Ks), 19) Heath Steffen (Hutchinson, Ks), 20) Johnny Whitmore (Wichita, Ks)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...