Jump to content

Leonard Claims Second NCRA Late Model Victory of Season at 81 Speedway


Recommended Posts

Leonard Claims Second NCRA Late Model Victory of Season at 81 Speedway!

Park City, Kansas – October 8, 2016 - Dusty Leonard started on the pole and held off repeated challenges by Chris Kratzer to claim victory as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products crate late model division made their final appearance of the season at 81 Speedway in Park City on Saturday night.

Leonard jumped into the lead at the start of the fifteen lap feature and opened up a five car length advantage over Kratzer by lap three. The first of two cautions of the feature fell on lap six when Loren Dauer, who was running fourth, got spun at the bottom of turn two.

On the restart, Leonard got the jump on current point leader Kratzer and his lead was just two car lengths before the final caution of the night would fall on lap nine when Jimmy Segraves came to a stop on the back stretch.

The final restart saw Leonard again jump out front with Kratzer pressuring the Marysville driver throughout the final laps. On the final lap, Kratzer would get a run on the leader entering turns three and four but would fall just one car length short as to claim his second series victory of the season.

Kratzer settled for second while veteran Delbert Smith came home third. Defending co-series champion Dan Smith started tenth and worked his way through the field to finish fourth while Rob Day rounded out the top five.

The two, ten lap heat races were won by Delbert Smith and Leonard.

The 2016 NCRA cate late model division will wrap up their season on Saturday night, October 22, at Salina Speedway in Salina, Kansas where Kratzer looks to lock up his second career series championship and first outright.

NCRA Late Models

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas


13 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Delbert Smith (Wichita, Ks), 2) Chris Kratzer (Haysville, Ks), 3) Loren Dauer, 4) Robert Shepard (Osage City, Ks), 5) Daniel Smith (Beloit, Ks), 6) Ryan Grit (Lindsborg, Ks), 7) Dustin Bolster (Belle Plaine, Ks)

2nd Heat: 1) Dusty Leonard (Marysville, Ks), 2) Damian Patocka (Enid, Ok), 3) Rob Day (WaKeeney, Ks), 4) Jeremy Bishop (Hutchinson, Ks), 5) Jimmy Segraves (Wichita, Ks), 6) Adam Popp (Haven, Ks)

A Feature: 1) Dusty Leonard (Marysville, Ks), 2) CXhris Kratzer (Haysville, Ks), 3) Delbert Smith (Wichita, Ks), 4) Daniel Smith (Beloit, Ks), 5) Rob Day (WaKeeney, Ks), 6) Robert Shepard (Osage City, Ks), 7) Loren Dauer, 8) Jeremy Bishop (Hutchinson, Ks), 9) Damian Patocka (Enid, Ok), 10) Dustin Bolster (Belle Plaine, Ks), 11) Jimmy Segraves (Wichita, Ks), 12) Ryan Grit (Lindsborg, Ks), 13) Adam Popp (Haven, Ks)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...