Jump to content

Hafertepe dominates ASCS Red River at Timberline Speedway

Recommended Posts

Hafertepe Dominates ASCS Red River at Timberline Speedway


CORLEY, Texas (October 8, 2016) Sam Hafertepe, Jr. was the class of the field at Timberline Speedway's Lone Star Sprint Shootout, earning his second career victory at the high-banked east Texas oval with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products.


Starting from the pole position for the evening's 25 lap, $2,000 to win championship event, the Sunnyvale, Texas driver never relinquished the point. Without a challenge the entire race, despite a half-dozen cautions, Sam drew his lead to 3.014 seconds at the checkered flag.


Beating out Kade Morton, the runner-up finish is the Oklahoma driver's best of the 2016 season with the ASCS Red River Region. The pair were chased to the checkered flag by Dustin Gates. Battling most of the race with Blake Hahn; fourth place eventually went to New Mexico's Johnny Herrera with Hahn in tow to complete the top-five.


Involve in an early caution, Chance Morton fought back to sixth with Fred Mattox seventh. Scottie McDonald crossed eighth with Jared Sewell ninth. Making his 2016 ASCS Red River debut, Austin Mundie crossed the stripe tenth.


Bonus money was put up for the Longest Tow and Hard Charger by the Timberline Speedway. Brandon Hanks pocketed an extra $200 for his drive from Burlison, Tenn. Picking up $300 as the night's Hard Charger was Johnny Herrera.


Up next for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products is the 43rd Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals in Mesquite, Texas with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network on Friday, October 14 and Saturday, October 15.


For continued updates on the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


ASCS Red River Region - Timberline Speedway - Corley, Texas - 2nd annual Lone Star Sprint Shootout - Saturday, October 8, 2016

Car Count: 15


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[3]; 2. 17-Dustin Gates[2]; 3. 8M-Kade Morton[1]; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox[6]; 5. 84-Brandon Hanks[4]; 6. 7H-Brian Gramm[5]; 7. V8-Robert Vetter[7]; (DNS) 2-Mickey Walker


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[3]; 2. 88-Scottie McDonald[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 4. 7M-Chance Morton[5]; 5. 44J-Jared Sewell[6]; 6. 4-Austin Mundie[7]; 7. 55-Brad Queen[2]


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[1]; 2. 8M-Kade Morton[2]; 3. 17-Dustin Gates[4]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[8]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 6. 7M-Chance Morton[6]; 7. 26M-Fred Mattox[3]; 8. 88-Scottie McDonald[7]; 9. 44J-Jared Sewell[9]; 10. 4-Austin Mundie[13]; 11. 55-Brad Queen[12]; 12. 84-Brandon Hanks[10]; 13. 7H-Brian Gramm[11]; 14. V8-Robert Vetter[15]; 15. 2-Mickey Walker[14]

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...