Jump to content

Belle-Clair Speedway 12th Annual Meents Memorial


Recommended Posts

Belleville, IL - Friday, September 30th and Saturday, October 1st, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series will take to Belle-Clair Speedway for the final time of 2016.

Saturday's event is held in honor of former Midwest Auto Racing Association President, Charlene Meents. During her years with MARA, Meents was instrumental in keeping midget racing alive in the Midwest, especially the St. Louis area. She played an important role in maintaining MARA's presence in some of the country's largest and most notable races, including the Belleville Nationals and the Chili Bowl Nationals. Though she passed away in 2003, Meents is remembered by many as a friendly face who welcomed them to each MARA event. Along with her friends and family, the Charlene Meents Memorial keeps her racing legacy alive.

Presented by Priority Aviation, the 12th Annual Charlene Meents Memorial features nearly $3,500 in extra sponsor money and contingencies, adding over $1,000 in payout to the back end of the feature purse, helping to make the feature $250 to start. Each heat race will also pay $50 to win, with $25 going to each of the second and third place heat race finishes. In addition, there will be $100 to the high point getter of the night, a $100 hard charger for the main event, and at least $25 paid to lap leaders of the feature. As an added bonus, semi non-transfers also will receive extra money and Hinchman Indy has sponsored a gift certificate for the driver with the worst luck. Gift certificates have also been provided by Simpson Race Products and Rod End Supply to be handed out to random positions throughout the evening.

A special thanks goes out to Richard and Jennifer Marshall of Priority Aviation for coming on board as the presenting sponsors of the Charlene Meents Memorial, and a big thank you goes to sponsors of all segments.

Thank you to the following:

Heat Races Winners:
Heat Race #1
Brayton Lynch Racing
Heat Race #2
Spike Chassis
Heat Race #3
Carli Anderson Agency/Farmers Insurance
Heat Race #4
Carli Anderson Agency/Farmers Insurance
Heat Race #5
In Memory of Charlene Meents

Heat Race 2nd & 3rd place - Brian Thompson Roofing

Carli Anderson Agency/Farmers Insurance
Frank Daigh - In Memory of Bryan Clauson and Charlene Meents

T-shirt Sponsors - Hoosier Tire Midwest, Siner Transport, Frank Daigh, Roof Bolt Xpress

Gift certificate contingencies - Simpson Race Products, Hinchman Indy, Rod End Supply

A-Main Hard Charger - Boss Chassis
Hard Luck Award - Hinchman Indy
High Passing Points - Four in the Fluff Motorsports Marketing & Promotions

A-main Lap Sponsors:
Lap 1
In Memory of Chad McDaniel
Lap 2
Picture Sandy (www.picturesandy.com)
Lap 3
Dave Booker & Sons Trucking
Lap 4
4 In the Fluff Motorsports Marketing & Promotions
Lap 5
Daum Motorsports
Lap 6
4 Left Turns
Lap 7
Shannon McQueen Racing
Lap 8
In Memory of Charlene Meents - Roger Branson Jr.
Lap 9
Kyle Jones Racing
Lap 10
Daum Motorsports
Lap 11
Carli Anderson Agency/Farmers Insurance
Lap 12
Chigger Patch Racing
Lap 13
Stella Fernandez
Lap 14
JET Motorsports
Lap 15
J.J. and Lisa Ercse
Lap 16
Bill Willis - In Memory of Rich Camfield
Lap 17
Bill Willis - In Memory of Bryan Clauson
Lap 18
Jerry and Kelly Myers
Lap 19
Spike Chassis
Lap 20
In Memory of Charlene Meents - Julie Novosel
Lap 21
In Memory of Michael Temares
Lap 22
Daum Crop Insurance
Lap 23
In Memory of Gail Rose by Rick Rose
Lap 24
Picture Sandy (www.picturesandy.com)
Lap 25
Daum Crop Insurance
Lap 26
Dave Booker & Sons Trucking
Lap 27
Butch Mays
Lap 28
The Roger Branson, Sr. Family
Lap 29
Brayton Lynch Racing
Lap 30
In Memory of Morty

For further information, visit www.powri.com, "Like" POWRi on Facebook and follow

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...