Jump to content

Championship Weekend on tap for ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints


Recommended Posts

Championship Weekend On Tap For ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints


TULSA, Okla. (September 28, 2016) Taking on their first season under the ASCS banner, the Lucas Oil ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints will bring the 2016 lineup to a close this Saturday, October 1 at the Southern Raceway in Milton, Fla. Seeing action at the Southern Raceway twice in 2016, Morgan Turpen and Kyle Amerson each earned their first career victories with the ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints at the Florida oval with Turpen topping action on May 21. Amerson saw Victory Lane on September 3.

Going into the Saturday showdown, the championship is still within reach for Kyle Amerson who trails Michael Miller by 81 markers. Outside Miller not showing up, a driver can conceivable make up 100 points in a night. That perfect, yet unwanted storm, involves a driver drawing in, but not being able to compete. In that case, 50 show-up point are awarded. To get the 100 marker jump, Amerson would have to win, but a third place finish would do as well


As it stands now, if Miller makes the A-Feature on Saturday, he will hang on to the title. The win would be Miller's third series title in the past four years, and first under the ASCS banner.

Holding third is Shane Morgan with Joey Schmidt and Tristan Lee making up the top five in tour standings. Ryan Moore holds sixth with Brandon Blendon, Timmy Thrash, Marshall Skinner, and Derek Hagar rounding out the top ten.


So far this season, 10 drivers have earned at least one victory with the Lucas Oil ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints in 16 nights of competition. Brian Bell and Michael Miller top the list with three wins each. Shane Morgan is the only other multi time winner with a pair of triumphs.


Saturday, October 1 at Southern Raceway, gates will open at 4:30 P.M. with racing at 7:30 P.M. (EDT). The night will also include Pure Stocks, NeSmith Street Stocks, Modifieds, and Vintage. Admission is $15 for adults with kids five and under admitted free into the grandstands. For more information, log onto http://www.southernraceway.com.


The ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints is powered by Lucas Oil, Brodix, Schoenfeld, Hoosier Tire, and Team Lucas. More information on the Lucas Oil ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints can be found online at http://www.ascsracing.com. Fans can also follow the series on Facebook.


Season To Date:

2016 ASCS/SOS Winners: Michael Miller 3; Brian Bell 3; Shane Morgan 2; Seth Bergman 1; Aaron Reutzel 1; Andy McElhannon 1; Derek Hagar 1; Morgan Turpen 1; Kyle Amerson 1; Terry Gray 1;

2016 Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Michael Miller 2,119; 2. Kyle Amerson 2,038; 3. Shane Morgan 2,012; 4. Joey Schmidt 1,843; 5. Tristan Lee 1,726; 6. Ryan Moore 1,700; 7. Brandon Blenden 1,529; 8. Timmy Thrash 1,139; 9. Marshall Skinner 1,038; 10. Derek Hagar 1,025;


2016 Lucas Oil ASCS/SOS Schedule:

Date-Track-City, State-Winner

3/4/2016-Hattiesburg Speedway - Hattiesburg, MS-Seth Bergman
3/5/2016-Deep South Speedway - Loxley, AL-Brian Bell
4/8/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Byram, MS-Aaron Reutzel
4/9/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Byram, MS-Andy McElhannon
4/29/2016-Moulton Speedway - Moulton, AL-Rain Out
4/30/2016-Duck River Raceway Park - Lewisburg, TN-Derek Hagar
5/21/2016-Southern Raceway - Milton, FL-Morgan Turpen
6/10/2016-Golden Triangle Raceway Park - Beaumont, TX-Rain Out
6/11/2016-Battleground Speedway - Highlands, TX-Michael Miller
6/24/2016-Moulton Speedway - Moulton, AL-Michael Miller
6/25/2016-Fort Payne Speedway - Fort Payne, AL-Rain Out
7/1/2016-Hattiesburg Speedway - Hattiesburg, MS-Brian Bell
7/2/2016-Hattiesburg Speedway - Hattiesburg, MS (Flip Flop 50)-Brian Bell
7/16/2016-Deep South Speedway - Loxley, AL-Rain Out (Rescheduled)
7/22/2016-Deep South Speedway - Loxley, AL-Shane Morgan
7/23/2016-Toccoa Speedway - Toccoa, GA-Shane Morgan
8/12/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Byram, MS-Rain Out
8/13/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Byram, MS-Brian Bell
9/3/2016-Southern Raceway - Milton, FL-Kyle Amerson
9/4/2016-Southern Raceway - Milton, FL-Rain Out
9/9/2016-Crossville Raceway - Crossville, TN-Terry Gray
9/10/2016-Duck River Raceway Park - Lewisburg, TN-Rain Out
10/1/2016-Southern Raceway - Milton, FL-


**Schedule subject to change without notice.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...