Jump to content

Tankersley wraps up 2016 ASCS Gulf South Crown at Battleground

Recommended Posts

Channin Tankersley Wraps Up 2016 ASCS Gulf South Championship With Battleground Victory


HIGHLANDS, Texas (September 3, 2016) Making his 19th career trip to Victory Lane with the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works, Channin Tankersley sewed up second series championship over the past three years in the G3 Boats No. 14 with a win at the Battleground Speedway in Highlands, Texas on Saturday, September 3.



Carey Akin photo


As it stand, Channin needs only to draw in at Sunday's season finale at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park in Beaumont, Texas. Trailing only on the first trip around the high-banked oval, Tankersley worked past Tommy Bryant to lead the remainder for his fifth win of the season.


Dustin Gates crossed second with Zane Lawrence third, but the finish for Lawrence would not stand as the Nose Wing was found to be too far forward in postrace inspection, thus handing the final podium step to Ray Allen Kulhanek. Tommy Bryant slipped to finish fourth with Jacob Lucas fifth. Caleb Martin crossed sixth with John Pate coming from 11th to seventh. Michael McNeil, Bruce Crockett, and Randy Allen made up the top-ten.


The Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works wraps up their 15th season of action on Sunday in Beaumont, Texas. For continued updates on the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Race Results:

ASCS Gulf South Region - Battleground Speedway - Highlands, Texas - Saturday, September 3, 2016


Car Count: 19


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant; 2. 14L-Michael Lang; 3. 15T-Michael McNeil; 4. 51-Caleb Martin; 5. 17-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 6. 36-John Pate; 7. 8-Bruce Crockett; 8. 1-Randy Allen; 9. 72-Richard Jones; 10. 17X-Cody Stacy


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 14-Channin Tankersley; 2. 76-Zane Lawrence; 3. 6-Dustin Gates; 4. 57-Jacob Lucas; 5. 88-Scottie McDonald; 6. 24-Brandie Jass; 7. 11-Jerry Cox; 8. 02-Harry Yerrington; 9. 30-Johnnie Wasson


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 14-Channin Tankersley[2]; 2. 6-Dustin Gates[3]; 3. 17-Ray Allen Kulhanek[9]; 4. 28-Tommy Bryant[1]; 5. 57-Jacob Lucas[5]; 6. 51-Caleb Martin[7]; 7. 36-John Pate[11]; 8. 15T-Michael McNeil[8]; 9. 8-Bruce Crockett[13]; 10. 1-Randy Allen[16]; 11. 11-Jerry Cox[12]; 12. 24-Brandie Jass[14]; 13. 88-Scottie McDonald[10]; 14. 02-Harry Yerrington[15]; 15. 14L-Michael Lang[6]; 16. 30-Johnnie Wasson[17]; 17. 72-Richard Jones[18]; 18. 17X-Cody Stacy[19]; (DQ) 76-Zane Lawrence[4]

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...