Jump to content

Droud Survives for NCRA Sprint Victory at Salina!


Recommended Posts

Droud Survives for NCRA Sprint Victory at Salina!

Salina, Kansas – June 17, 2016 - After a wild start and wild weather during the event, Don Droud, Jr. found victory lane to claim his third feature victory of the season as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas made their first and only scheduled appearance of the season Friday night at Salina Speedway in Salina, Kansas.

Current point leader C.J. Johnson and Jeff Stasa started on the front row for the scheduled twenty-five lap feature and the start was just as wild as the incoming weather as two red flags and two cautions slowed the pending start of the race. Among the happenings before one laps was complete: caution for Tony Bruce, Jr.; J.D. Johnson and rookie of the year contender Forrest Southerland making contact sending both cars flipping; Jake Greider, Jeremy Campbell and Jason Martin getting together coming out of turn four causing Martin to roll over.

It was about that time a when the weather decided to compete with strong winds making it tricky for the remaining cars on the track not to get blown off. The feature, now cut to twenty laps, saw Droud bring home the Ochs Brothers #1x from his tenth starting position to eventually claim the victory. Seventh starting Danny Wood came home third while C. J. Johnson settled for third. Stasa came home a season-best fourth while Jon Freeman rounded out the top five.

The two heat races for the fourteen car field were won by Stasa and C.J. Johnson.

The tour will now head to 81 Speedway in Park City to round out their two-day Father’s Day weekend double-header.

NCRA Sprints

Salina Speedway/Salina, Kansas

June 17, 2016

14 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Jeff Stasa, 2) Jack Dover, 3) Forrest Southerland, 4) Danny Wood, 5) Don Droud, Jr., 6) Jeremy Campell, 7) Jason Martin

2nd Heat: 1) C.J. Johnson, 2) J.D. Johnson, 3) Jon Freeman, 4) Tony Bruce, Jr., 5) Jake Greider, 6) Ray Seeman, 7) Josh Fairbank

A Feature: 1) (10) Don Droud Jr. (Lincoln, Ne), 2) (7) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 3) (1) C.J. Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 4) (2) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 5) (6) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 6) (12) Ray Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 7) (14) Josh Fairbank (Wichita, Ks), 8) (9) Jake Greider (Haysville, Ks), 9) (13) Jason Martin (Lincoln, Ne), 10) (11) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 11) (4) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 12) (5) Forrest Sutherland (Cherryvale, KS), 13) (3) Jack Dover (Springfield, Ne), 14) (8) Tony Bruce Jr. (Owasso, Ok),

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...