Jump to content

Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals next for Lucas Oil ASCS

Recommended Posts

Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals Next for Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series

TULSA, Okla. (October 13, 2014) - The final leg of the 2014 season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real gets underway this Friday, October 17 and Saturday, October 18 with the 41st running of the Winter Nationals and James McElreath Memorial at the Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

Races 79 and 80 for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real at the famed half-mile oval, the 2014 season has seen three nights contested at the Devil's Bowl so far with Tony Bruce, Jr. picking up his second career victory at the Edwards family owned facility during preliminary action at the Spring Nationals on March 21, 2014. Upon the series return to finish out the Spring Nationals the following week, Patrick Stasa notched his first National Tour win.

Moving to June 14, 2014 and the start of Speedweek, Seth Bergman became the first Washington driver to grab a National Tour win at the Devil's Bowl Speedway.

With only 10 nights of racing remaining on the docket, every lap will count as Brad Loyet looks to capture his first Lucas Oil ASCS National Championship. The three time Lucas Oil POWRi Midget Champion would be the first Missouri native to capture the National Championship of the American Sprint Car Series.

Loyet's first trip to the famed Devil's Bowl came in 2012 for the Spring Nationals. The event was topped by Jason Johnson while Loyet raced to a thirteenth place finish.

Taking a 62 point advantage into the weekend double-header, Jason Johnson holds second with a slim 10 point advantage over Johnny Herrera and only 12 over Sam Hafertepe, Jr. and Jeff Swindell who are tied for fourth with the nod going to Hafertepe with four victories on the season to Swindell's three.

Of the drivers in the top five, Jason Johnson lead the series among active drivers with 10 wins at the Devil's Bowl. Johnny Herrera has two victories to his credit as does Jeff Swindell. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. has a single Devil's Bowl victory with the National Tour. Current leader, Brad Loyet, has yet to top the field at the Devi's Bowl, with a best finish of third on June 15, 2013.

Summer Nationals winner, Seth Bergman, currently holds sixth in tour standings. Matt Covington in seventh has a best finish of second with the National Tour on March 21, 2014. Tony Bruce, Jr. with a pair of wins at the Devil's Bowl holds eighth. Blake Hahn enters the weekend on a high note during the Summer Nationals with a runner-up finish. One year ago Aaron Reutzel, currently tenth in points, stood on the podium with Brian Brown and Tony Bruce, Jr.

Paired with the Smiley's Racing Products Lone Star Region, Patrick Stasa enters the weekend with the 2014 title tied up with a 248 point advantage over Shawn Petersen. Josh Baughman third, Kevin Ramey fourth, and John Carney II make up the top five.

The 41st annual Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals and James McElreath Memorial will be preceded by the Steve King Memorial Charity Golf Tournament on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at the Buffalo Creek Golf Club in Rockwall, Texas. To enter, email Tom Lorenz at tomlorenz@smileysracing.com or Chelsie Lorenz at clorenz@smileysracing.com.

Friday, October 17 will include the Texas Outlaw Modified Touring Series as well as the Blaine's Limited Modifieds. Saturday, October 18 will see Outlaw Modifieds swapped for the A.S.I. RaceSaver 305cid Sprint Cars and will again include the Blaine's Limited Modifieds. Both nights open at 6:00 P.M. (CT) with racing getting underway at 8:00 P.M. (CT).

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Quick Look - Devil's Bowl Speedway:

Past Devils Bowl Winter National Champions: 2013 - Brian Brown, 2012-Jeff Swindell, 2011-Danny Lasoski, 2010-Jack Dover, 2009-Kevin Ramey, 2008-Jason Johnson, 2007-Jason Johnson, 2006-Travis Rilat, 2005-Gary Wright, 2004-Shane Stewart, 2003-Gary Wright, 2002-Tyler Walker, 2001-Joey Saldana, 2000-Sammy Swindell, 1999-Gary Wright, 1998-Sammy Swindell, 1997-Mark Kinser, 1996-Mark Kinser, 1995-Gary Wright, 1994-Sammy Swindell, 1993-Dave Blaney, 1992-Gary Wright, 1991-Mike Peters, 1990-Steve Kinser, 1989-Jack Hewitt, 1988-Doug Wolfgang, 1987-Sammy Swindell, 1986-Bobby Davis, Jr., 1985-Dave Blaney, 1984-Sammy Swindell, 1983-Sammy Swindell, 1982-Steve Kinser, 1981-Doug Wolfgang, 1980-Doug Wolfgang, 1979-Sammy Swindell, 1978-Sammy Swindell, 1977-Bobby Marshall, 1976-Bobby Marshall, 1975-Jan Opperman, 1974-Joe Saldana

Devil's Bowl Speedway - Lucas Oil ASCS Winners: Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 20, Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA.) 10, Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK.) 6, Kevin Ramey (Ft. Worth, TX.) 4, Danny Jennings (Norman, OK.) 3, Sammy Swindell (Germantown, TN.) 3, Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO.) 2, Garry Lee Maier (Cimarron, KS.) 2, Jeff Swindell (Bartlett, TN) 2, Johnny Herrera (Albuquerque, N.M.) 2, Mike Peters (Wichita, KS.) 2, Shane Stewart (Bixby, OK.) 2, Terry Gray (Bartlett, TN.) 2, Tony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS.) 2, Travis Rilat (Forney, TX.) 2, Shane Carson (Oklahoma City, OK.), Alan Payne (Dallas, TX.), Danny Lasoski (Dover, MO.), Edd French (El Paso, TX.), Jack Dover (Springfield, NE.), Jake Peters (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Kyle Bellm (Nixa, MO.), Larry Neighbors (Oklahoma City, OK.), Mike Ward (Memphis, TN.), Patrick Stasa (Ft. Worth, TX.), Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX.), Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA.), Shane Carson (Oklahoma City, OK.), Tim Crawley (Bryant, AR.)

The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real


41st Devils Bowl Winter Nationals


Friday, October 17, 2014 - Open at 6:00 P.M. / Racing at 8:00 P.M.

Saturday, October 18, 2014 - Open at 6:00 P.M. / Racing at 8:00 P.M.


Devils Bowl Speedway
11711 Lawson Rd.
Mesquite, TX 75181

Contact Information:

Website: http://www.devilsbowl.com
Email: info@devilsbowl.com
Phone: 972-222-2421

Event Coverage:

Live online audio is provided for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real on http://www.racinboys.com. Live broadcasts are brought to you by Lucas Oil and presented by the McCarthy Auto Group, located in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Line-ups, finishes, and further updates are provided throughout each race night at http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs and http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs

Live Timing and scoring is available at most Lucas Oil ASCS events via Race Monitor which is available in the App Store of your Smart Phone or Tablet.

2014 A-Feature Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. - 4. Brad Loyet - 3, Jeff Swindell - 3, Aaron Reutzel -2, Rico Abreu - 2, Tony Bruce, Jr. - 2, Christopher Bell - 2, Brian Brown - 2, Seth Bergman - 2, Wayne Johnson - 2, Derek Hagar - 2, Patrick Stasa - 1, Sammy Swindell - 1, Davey Heskin - 1, Matt Covington - 1, Tim Crawley - 1

2014 Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Brad Loyet 3,526; 2. Jason Johnson 3,464; 3. Johnny Herrera 3,454; 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,452; 5. Jeff Swindell 3,452; 6. Seth Bergman 3,310; 7. Matt Covington 3,170; 8. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,128; 9. Blake Hahn 2,980; 10. Aaron Reutzel 2,934;

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...