Jump to content

Holly Springs Motorsports wins biggest IHRA Summit Team Finals of the

Recommended Posts



Holly Springs Motorsports wins biggest IHRA Summit Team Finals of the year




Holly Springs edges Memphis International Raceway for team crown




MILLINGTON, Tenn. (October 6, 2014) - The final race of the 2014 IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL season took place over the weekend at Memphis International Raceway with the single largest team event of the year at the Division 2 West Team Finals.





Division 2 West Summit SuperSeries final between Lee Marcum III and Robbie Smith



A total of 16 teams battled it out at in Tennessee for a shot at the team championship with Mississippi's Holly Springs Motorsports Park holding off host track Memphis International Raceway by two points for the team win. Holly Springs accrued 40 points during the busy three-day weekend, just ahead of MIR's 38 points. London Dragway was third with 35 points, followed by Knoxville Dragstrip (33) and Brainerd Optimist Dragstrip (25). Other tracks in competition included Alabama International Dragway, Gulfport Dragway, Prescott Raceway, Middle Tennessee Dragway, I-64 Motorplex, Mo-Kan Dragway, Atmore Dragway, Ozark Raceway Park and Mountain Park Dragway.


In the Division 2 West Summit SuperSeries runoff, Lee Marcum III, Jerry King and Tyler Poindexter won their respective classes and will join runner-up finishers Robbie Smith, Bobby Arnett and Katlyn Hall at the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals later this week.





Division 2 West Summit SuperSeries Mod final between Jerry King and Bobby Arnett



Lee Marcum III, racing out of Ozark Raceway Park, won the Top ET runoff Saturday in Memphis over Knoxville Dragstrip's Robbie Smith. Marcum had a .025 light paired with a 5.057-second pass on a 5.04 dial at 134.35 mph, while Smith went -.004 red on the tree.


In the Mod ET runoff Jerry King, from Middle Tennessee Dragway, used a perfect reaction time to help advance past Bobby Arnett. King had a dead-on .000 light coupled with a 6.949 on a 6.92 at 98.01 mph to take the win. Arnett, from I-64 Motorplex, had a 6.376 on a 6.35 at 97.15 mph in the runner-up finish.





Division 2 West SuperSeries Junior final between Tyler Poindexter and Katlyn Hall



Tyler Poindexter wrapped up Saturday's Summit SuperSeries action with a win over Katlyn Hall. Poindexter, representing his home track of Memphis International Raceway, had a 7.962 on a 7.94 at 80.62 mph to take the win. Hall, from Mountain Park Dragway, had an 8.199 on an 8.22 at 80.76 mph.


Other big winners from the Division 2 West Summit Team Finals include Main Event winners Chris Johnson (London Dragway) in Top ET, Steve Stites (Holly Springs Motorsports) in Mod ET and Tucker Kay (Alabama International Dragway) in Junior Dragster.


Complete results from the Division 2 West Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL at Memphis International Raceway can be found below.



Division 2 West Summit Team Finals Team Standings



1. Holly Springs Motorsports - 40

2. Memphis International Raceway - 38

3. London Dragway - 35

4. Knoxville Dragstrip - 33

5. Brainerd Optimist Dragstrip - 25

6. Alabama International Dragway - 22

7. Memphis International Raceway Team 2 - 21

8. Gulfport Dragway - 19

9. Prescott Raceway - 15

10. Middle Tennessee Dragway - 15

11. I-64 Motorplex - 14

12. Mo-Kan Dragway - 14

13. Knoxville Dragstrip Team 2 - 10

14. Atmore Dragway - 6

15. Ozark Raceway Park - 5

16. Mountain Park Dragway - 3






SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Lee Marcum III, Ozark Raceway Park, (.025) 5.057 on 5.04, 134.35 def. Robbie Smith, Knoxville Dragstrip, (-.004) foul


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Jerry King, Middle Tennessee Dragway, (.000) 6.949 on 6.92, 98.01 def. Bobby Arnett, I-64 Motorplex, (.026) 6.376 on 6.35, 97.15


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR DRAGSTER - Tyler Poindexter, Memphis International Raceway, (.046) 7.962 on 7.94, 80.62 def. Katlyn Hall, Mountain Park Dragway, (.077) 8.199 on 8.22, 80.76






Main Event Top ET - Chris Johnson, London Dragway, (.014) 4.729 on 4.72, 140.05 def. Monica Mills, London Dragway, (.027) 4.852 on 4.84, 141.53


Main Event Mod ET - Steve Stites, Holly Springs Motorsports, (.013) 6.589 on 6.56, 101.77 def. Darryl Paul, Gulfport Dragway, (.061) 6.368 on 6.37 def. 105.50


Main Event Junior Dragster - Tucker Kay, Alabama International Dragway, (.007) 7.959 on 7.94, 78.53 def. Kennan Myers, Knoxville Dragstrip, (.042) 7.990 on 7.90, 70.68

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...