Jump to content

J.D. Johnson breaks four-year drought, claims NCRA Sprint win


Recommended Posts

J.D. Johnson Breaks Four Year Drought, Claims NCRA Sprint Win

Park City, Kansas August 30, 2014 - J.D. Johnson took the lead coming out of turn two on the start and never looked back as he led wire to wire in claiming his first tour victory since 2010 in winning the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products sprint car feature Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City as the tour kicked off the first of two nights of racing action this Labor Day weekend.

Nebraskas Tyler Drueke and Ty Williams started on the front row for the twenty-five lap feature but it was Johnson using the low line in turns one and two to take the lead as the green flag fell. Johnson would open up a half stretch lead by lap two while fourth starting Jeremy Campbell worked passed Drueke for the runner up position.

Johnson, aboard the Jeff Whitehead owned #8 Whitehead Motorsports sprinter, began approaching slow cars on lap eight allowing Campbell to lose to within five car lengths of the leader. Johnson made quick work of the slower cars and once again opened a half stretch advantage at the races midway point.

Campbell, who came into the night with a 35 point lead over defending tour champion C.J. Johnson, would lose the runner up position on lap thirteen as motor gremlins that struck him during heat race action, slowed his pace once again allowing Drueke to reclaim the second position.

Drueke looked to run down the leader and there was no stopping J.D. Johnson on this night as he went on to take the half stretch victory for this first series triumph since July of 2010.

C.J. Johnson would get by Campbell for third with four laps to go while Williams rounded out the top five.

The two, eight lap heat races for the fourteen car field were won by Drueke and Williams.

The tour will now load up and head north to the Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas for their annual Sunday night, Labor Day weekend event.

NCRA Sprints

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas

August 30, 2014

14 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Tyler Drueke, 2) Raymond Seeman, 3) J.D. Johnson, 4) C.J. Johnson, 5) Rick Wright, 6) Jeff Stasa, 7) Kaden Taylor

2nd Heat: 1) Ty Williams, 2) Jeremy Campbell, 3) Scott Lehman, 4) Jon Freeman, 5) Cody Forshee, 6) Jake Greider, DQ) Jimmie Hobbs

A Feature: 1) J.D. Johnson, 2) Tyler Drueke, 3) C.J. Johnson, 4) Jeremy Campbell, 5) Ty Williams, 6) Jon Freeman, 7) Raymond Seeman, 8) Jeff Stasa, 9) Cody Forshee, 10) Rick Wright, 11) Scott Lehman, 12) Jake Greider, 13) Kaden Taylor

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...