Jump to content

USAC Non-Wing Sprint Cars at 81 Speedway This Friday Night


Recommended Posts


USAC Non-Wing Sprint Cars at 81 Speedway This Friday Night!




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Geary, Oklahoma August 11, 2014 - This coming Friday night, August 15, Wix Filters/Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts presents the Harold Leep Memorial featuring the USAC Southwest non-wing sprint car series as part of the second annual Freedom Tour. Also on the racing card will be the Kansas Antique Auto Racers.


The event will be race number three on the four race tour which will see stops at Lawton Speedway in Lawton, Oklahoma (Wednesday night), Creek County Speedway in Kellyville, Oklahoma (Thursday night) and will wrap up at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas on Saturday night.


Among the drivers traveling from the Southwest will be Las Cruces, New Mexicos Rick Ziehl, who topped two of four Freedom Tour events last year, including one at Dodge City Raceway Park. Other winners were Charles Davis, Jr., and Oklahomas Danny Smith.




Leading the USAC Southwest forces to Oklahoma and Kansas is reigning series champion and current points leader R.J. Johnson of Phoenix, AZ, on the strength of five series wins thus far in 2014.




Taking in his first Freedom Tour after missing last years inaugural events, Johnson holds a 44-point lead over multi-time Arizona champion Charles Davis, Jr.




Among others expected from the Southwest are Rick Ziehl, Josh Pelkey, Mike Martin, Colby Copeland, Shon Deskins, Josh Hodges, Michael Curtis, Chris Bonneau, Michael Bonneau and Tye Mihocko.




Ziehl won two of the four races held last year. Other winners during last years inaugural tour were Charles Davis, Jr. and Oklahomas Danny Smith, who won last years event at the speedway.




With identical rules to the local ASCS and NCRA contenders minus the wings, a number of local and regional stars are expected to defend home turf against the invading forces over the course of the four race mini-series.




Among the drivers expected to defend the home turf of the Midwest are; Former National Championship Racing Association and 81 speedway sprint car champion Jeremy Campbell, current ASCS Sooner region point leader Dustin Morgan, Wyatt Burks, Harli White, Californias Shannon McQueen, who will be driving the #7 sprinter normally driven by Michelle Decker, Koby Barksdale, Kevin Risley, Tim Kent among others.


The Harold Leep Memorial is in honor of the former Wichita native who competed many years at 81 Speedway and was a multiple time winner on the old NCRA super modified tour. Harold passed away earlier this year.


Gates will open at 5:30 PM with racing slated for a 7:30 PM start time. 81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...