Jump to content

Lawton Speedway to host USAC Wingless Sprints Wednesday Night


Recommended Posts

Lawton Speedway to Host USAC Wingless Sprints Wednesday Night!




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Geary, Oklahoma August 11, 2014 - Exciting non-wing sprint car racing action returns to Lawton Speedway this coming Wednesday night, August 13, as the track will host the opening night of the second annual Freedom Tour featuring the USAC Southwest sprint car series. Also competing will be the tracks limited modified division.


The event will be race number one on the four race tour which will see stops at Creek County Speedway in Kellyville, Oklahoma (Thursday night), 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas (Friday night) and will wrap up at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas on Saturday night. Each race pays $2500 to win and $250 just to start the nights feature finale.


Among the drivers traveling from the Southwest will be Las Cruces, New Mexicos Rick Ziehl, who topped two of four Freedom Tour events last year, including one at Dodge City Raceway Park. Other winners were Charles Davis, Jr., and Oklahomas Danny Smith.




Leading the USAC Southwest forces to Oklahoma and Kansas is reigning series champion and current points leader R.J. Johnson of Phoenix, AZ, on the strength of five series wins thus far in 2014.




Taking in his first Freedom Tour after missing last years inaugural events, Johnson holds a 44-point lead over multi-time Arizona champion Charles Davis, Jr.




Among others expected from the Southwest are Rick Ziehl, Josh Pelkey, Mike Martin, Colby Copeland, Shon Deskins, Josh Hodges, Michael Curtis, Chris Bonneau, Michael Bonneau and Tye Mihocko.




Ziehl won two of the four races held last year. Other winners during last years inaugural tour were Charles Davis, Jr. and Oklahomas Danny Smith. This will be the first year the series makes an appearance at the Lawton, Oklahoma quarter mile clay oval.




With identical rules to the local ASCS and NCRA contenders minus the wings, a number of local and regional stars are expected to defend home turf against the invading forces over the course of the four race mini-series.




Among the drivers expected to defend the home turf of the Midwest are; Current ASCS Sooner region point leader Dustin Morgan, Robert and Shane Sellers, Californias Casey Shuman, who will be driving for Wichita Falls car owner John James, Blake Hahn, Wyatt Burks, Michelle Decker, Koby Barksdale, Kevin Risley, Tim Kent, Harli White among others.


Pit gates open at 5:00 PM with racing slated for an 8:00 PM start time. Adult general admission tickets are $15 while tickets for students as well as seniors 60 years and older just $10. Kids six years old and younger will be admitted free. All pit passes are $30.


The following are directions for drivers and fans coming from North Lawton and South Lawton:


Take Interstate 44 to Lee Boulevard.

Go west onto Lee Boulevard to Sheridan Road.

Turn south (left) and go 1.5 miles to the racetrack.


If coming from the south of Lawton:

Exit Highway 36 and take the Faxon exit.

Go north onto Sheridan Road.

Racetrack will be approx. 5 miles.


For more race information contact Lawton Speedway (580) 355-6417 and you can also check out their official website www.lawtonspeedway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...