Jump to content

Abreu Takes Night 1 of the Kokomo Grand Prix


Recommended Posts


Abreu Takes Night 1 of the Kokomo Grand Prix, Benson Picks Up Micro Season Opener at Kokomo





Saturday, April 12nd 2014







Kokomo, IN. - Rico Abreu drove to a stellar victory in the co-sanctioned POWRi/USAC midget feature and Nathan Benson won the Speedway Motors POWRI 600cc Micro Series feature in the Friday night portion of the Kokomo Grand Prix at Kokomo Speedway.




Abreu went wire-to-wire in the 30 lap feature on the ¼ mile oval and finished comfortably ahead of second place finisher Dave Darland. Driving the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports' Toyota-powered Bullet, Abreu was never seriously challenged by runner-up finisher Dave Darland. "I started fourth, and first and second were running through the middle and I went way up on the top to get a good run," explained a pleased Abreu. "I can't thank Keith Kunz and Pete Willoughby enough." This is Abreu's first Lucas Oil POWRi Midget Series feature win of 2014, but Abreu also has feature wins this year in the STP World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series and the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series, adding him to the list of versatile drivers to win races in the POWRi series.




Kokomo, Indiana's own Dave Darland took home the runner-up position, as well as quick time honors in the RW Motorsports Fontana-powered Beast. "It was a good night," explained Darland. "We started sixth and were able to put pressure on Rico (for the lead), but our right rear was a little low on pressure and the track got a little lippy. We might have been able to go for the lead late in the race if that hadn't happened. But we're happy with our results."




Rounding out the podium for night one of the Kokomo Grand Prix is third place finisher Christopher Bell driving the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports' Bullet-Toyota from the fifth position. Bell drove to the third position on the 19th lap and stayed within striking distance of second place for the remainder of the race. Driving the high line for a good portion of the race, it was Bell's last lap, last corner move on Dave Darland for second place that had fans on their feet. The move did not stick, and Bell had to settle for the third position. "I wish I would have tried that move a little earlier, I just didn't expect it to work. It's tough to make a move once you get racing. That's one thing about this place, you carry so much momentum it's tough to slide someone and break their momentum."




Nathan Benson of Concorida, MO., drove to a runaway victory in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series season opener. The reigning POWRi micro champion started on the outside front row, took the lead on the opening lap and went unchallenged for the remainder of the race. "With these bigger tracks, it's all about momentum," explained Benson. "It feels good to start the season off with a win."




Jeremy Camp of Blue Mound, IL., finished second and Riverton, IL., native Aaron Andruskevitch finished third.




POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Dave Darland, 3. Christopher Bell, 4. Chris Windom, 5. Tracy Hines, 6. Kevin Thomas, 7. Bryan Clauson, 8. Zach Daum, 9. Shane Hollingsworth, 10. Tanner Thorson, 11. Jerry Coons, 12. Andrew Felker, 13. Parker Price-Miller, 14. Tyler Thomas, 15. Tyler Courtney, 16. Davey Ray, 17. Daniel Robinson, 18. Austin Brown, 19. Darren Hagen, 20. Shane Cottle, 21. Justin Peck, 22. Taylor Ferns, 23. Spencer Bayston, 24. Seth Motsinger, 25. Alex Bright, 26. Colten Cottle




POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series results (20 Laps): 1. Nathan Benson, 2. Jeremy Camp, 3. Aaron Andruskevitch, 4. Matt Johnson, 5. Trent Wilson, 6. Nathan Lauderbaugh, 7. Jessee Holt, 8. Tyler Nelson, 9. Jake Neuman, 10. Nick Bailey, 11. Zac Taylor, 12. Jason Harms, 13. Matt Ostler, 14. Rob Johnson, 15. Steve Finn, 16. Danny Clark, 17. Brook Cooper, 18. Nic Harris, 19. Jeremy Zumwalt, 20. Roger Ritchey, 21. Todd Kirkman, 22. Kyle Schuett, 23. Andrew Peters, 24. Austin Stewart, 25. Chris Miller




For more information, visit www.powri.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...