Jump to content

Bloomquist Edges Moore and Gustin at ARK-LA-TEX Speedway

Recommended Posts

Scott Bloomquist Edges Moore and Gustin in Terrific Finish at ARK-LA-TEX Speedway





VIVIAN, LA (April 5, 2014) - Scott Bloomquist raced to his 47th career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win on Saturday Night at ARK-LA-TEX Speedway in thrilling fashion. Bloomquist took the lead on the 48th lap and led Ray Moore and Ryan Gustin to the checkered flag in a close finish. Bloomquist took over the second spot on lap 20 and trailed Moore until the two entered lapped traffic in the final ten laps when he began closing on Moore's rear bumper.




"This is our first time here," said Bloomquist, who became the 10thdifferent winner in 11 LOLMDS races this season. "I heard the racing would be two and three wide easily here. Well it is definitely true! I hope the crowd enjoyed that one. Our Sweet-Bloomquist car has been good all year. I have to thank Hawkeye Trucking, Durham Racing Engines, Lucas Oil Products, and Penske Shocks."




"The track in the heat races was great and we could run anywhere, then the top started getting dominant during the feature. We set up our car for the end with our tire choice. When we caught him (Moore), there were a few cars in front of us, and I just picked the right line to get by him. He drove a heck of a race, we had just enough laps to catch him and pass him," said Bloomquist afterwards.




Moore and Gustin battled with Bloomquist to the very end. "This would have been the biggest win of my career with the competition that was here tonight. We won the Pelican here and that was huge for us. Scott is just too good. Once he got by me; I knew I was in trouble. I was trying to hang on for second ahead of Gustin," said the driver of the Moore Wireline, MB Customs entry. "I really wanted to win for the home-state fans as well as they have been behind me since I started my racing career. We came up a little short tonight, but we will be back and try again" stated Moore.




Gustin, in his first-full year of Late Model racing nearly stole the win at the end. "We were coming up quickly in the final five laps. The top was going away, and our car just didn't work as well on the bottom to middle part of the track. To run third against these guys says a lot about our team as we continue to grow. We have a lot to learn about these cars, but I think once we get the hang of it, we are going to get some big wins," said the driver of Gressel Racing, Rocket Chassis, #19G.




Jimmy Owens, the 3-time and reigning series champion charged from 18th to fourth and fast qualifier, Don O'Neal rounded out the top five. Completing the top ten were Chris Wall, Brian Shirley, Tim McCreadie, Ray Cook, and Earl Pearson Jr.




In preliminary action, Don O'Neal set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the ­51 entrants, with a lap of 13.607 seconds. Ryan Gustin set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.095 seconds. Morgan Bagley, Eddie Carrier Jr., Tim McCreadie, Ray Moore, Scott Bloomquist, and Billy Moyer won their respective heat races. Kyle Bronson and Earl Pearson Jr. won their respective B-Mains.





For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.


Tomorrow night's event at Outlaw Motorsports Park has been postponed due to impending weather being forecast for tomorrow evening. Officials of Outlaw Motorsports Park and the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series hope to find a suitable make-up date for this season, if not it will be tentatively rescheduled for 2015.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series




Race Summary


Saturday Night, April 5th, 2014

Ark-La-Tex Speedway - Vivian, LA




Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Ryan Gustin / 14.095 seconds


Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Don O'Neal / 13.607 seconds


Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Morgan Bagley, Ryan Gustin, John Blankenship, Jon Mitchell, Jeff Chanler, Brett Frazier, Odie Green, Tommy Surrett, Rick Hearnsberger




Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Ray Cook, Shane Hebert, Kyle Bronson, Billy Moyer, Jr., Bub McCool, Robbie Stuart, Lee Davis




Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Jack Sullivan, Randy Weaver, Dennis Erb, Jr., Clay Fisher, Chandler Petty, Kody Mea, Shannon Scott



FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Ray Moore, Don O'Neal, Jesse Stovall, Kyle Beard, Anthony Burroughs, Allen Murray, Steve Francis, Chris Brown, Kevin Ray


Fast Shafts Heat Race #5 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Chris Wall, Brian Shirley, Earl Pearson, Jr., Robert Baker, BJ Robinson, Wendell Wallace, Brandon Smith, Lynn Beach




Eibach Springs Heat Race #6 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Jason Papich, Jimmy Owens, Jared Landers, Jason Hughes, Timothy Culp, Raymond Merrill, David Payne



JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Kyle Bronson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jon Mitchell, Bub McCool, Jeff Chanler, Tommy Surrett, Clay Fisher, Billy Moyer, Jr., Robbie Stuart, Brett Frazier, Kody Mea, Shannon Scott, Rick Hearnsberger, Lee Davis, Odie Green, Chandler Petty-DNS



CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Kyle Beard, Jared Landers, Robert Baker, Jason Hughes, Steve Francis, Anthony Burroughs, Timothy Culp, BJ Robinson, Wendell Wallace, Raymond Merrill, Brandon Smith, Lynn Beach, Kevin Ray, Chris Brown, Allen Murray, David Payne


Feature Finish (50 Laps):































Race Statistics


Entrants: 51


Lap Leaders: Ray Moore (Laps 1 - 47); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 48 - 50)

Caution Flags: Randy Weaver (Lap 9); Kyle Bronson, Chanler Petty, Jesse Stovall, Jack Sullivan (Lap 11); Kyle Bronson (Lap 21)


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Steve Francis, Jared Landers


COMP Cams Series Provisionals: Chanler Petty, Clay Fisher

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Jason Hughes, Billy Moyer Jr.

Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist


Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Started: 18th; Finished: 4th; Advanced: 14 positions)


Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O'Neal

Allstar Performer of the Race: Jimmy Owens


Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens


Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Papich

Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Papich


COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Race Engines


Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars


Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Matt Salmons (Scott Bloomquist)

HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Jimmy Owens - 48 Lap - 14.785 seconds


Time of Race: 23 minutes 21 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...