Jump to content

Jason Johnson wires ASCS Gulf South at Battleground

Recommended Posts

Jason Johnson wires ASCS Gulf South at Battleground


HIGHLANDS, Texas (April 5, 2014) - The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region completed the weekend double at the Battleground Speedway in Highlands, Texas amid high rain chances with Jason Johnson wiring the night's 25 lap A-Feature.


Fitting as the night was dedicated to Patrick Silva, the crew member for team mate Josh Baughman, who passed away suddenly just over a week ago.


Johnson's second ASCS victory of the season, the Stenhouse, Jr. Racing owned, Curb / Agajanian Performance Group co-owned No. 41 took off from the outside of the front row and never looked back.


Sam Hafertepe, Jr. placed second in the Berryman Motorsports No. 31b with Friday night winner, Seth Bergman, crossing the stripe third. Aaron Reutzel and Blake Hahn made up the top five with Chris Sweeny from tenth, Josh Baughman from fifteenth, John Pate from nineteenth, Klint Angelette from thirteenth, and Larry Howery advancing one to complete the top ten.


The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region sees action again on Friday, April 18 at the Heat O' Texas Speedway in Waco and Saturday, April 19 at the Gator Motorplex in Willis.


To keep up to date with the American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Battleground Speedway - Highlands, Texas
Saturday, April 5, 2014


Car Count: 21


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 30-Brandon Corn; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 17T-Larry Howery; 4. 24-Brandie Jass; 5. 3-Gary Watson; 6. 17X-Josh Baughman; 7. (DNF) 28-Channin Tankersley; 8. (DNF) 17W-Harli White; DNS 12-Scott Smith


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn; 2. 93-Chris Sweeney; 3. 5X-Tyson Hall; 4. 2-Wes Miller; 5. 19-Klint Angelette; 6. 29-Mike Walling; 7. 53-Andrew VanBlarcum; 8. 36-John Pate


A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 2. 31-Sam Hafertepe Jr[5]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel[6]; 5. 17-Blake Hahn[8]; 6. 93-Chris Sweeney[10]; 7. 17X-Josh Baughman[15]; 8. 36-John Pate[19]; 9. 19-Klint Angelette[13]; 10. 17T-Larry Howery[11]; 11. 30-Brandon Corn[3]; 12. 29-Mike Walling[16]; 13. 24-Brandie Jass[9]; 14. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[7]; 15. 2-Wes Miller[4]; 16. 12-Scott Smith[21]; 17. 5X-Tyson Hall[12]; 18. 3-Gary Watson[14]; 19. 28-Channin Tankersley[17]; 20. 17W-Harli White[20]


Lap Leader: Jason Johnson 1-25

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...