Jump to content

Looking Ahead: Lucas Oil ASCS at I-30 Speedway


Recommended Posts

Looking Ahead: Lucas Oil ASCS at I-30 Speedway


TULSA, Okla. (April 2, 2014) - The first of three appearances on the season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real at the I-30 Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, April 12 with the Hammer Hill Showdown.


One year ago, the spring appearance saw Jason Johnson click off his eighth career win at the Arkansas quarter-mile. Winless in ASCS National Tour competition so far in 2014, Johnson is third in tour standings; trailing two-time Short Track Nationals Champion, Tony Bruce, Jr. by one point. Bruce has a total of four wins at the I-30 Speedway.


Christopher Bell holds the point with four top-five finishes so far this season with three of those ending on the podium in the Berryman Motorsports No. 31. Bell, who drives full time for Keith Kunz Motorsports, will run a limited schedule of Lucas Oil ASCS National events in 2014.


Matt Covington's pair of top-fives at the Devil's Bowl Speedway's Spring Nationals has put the T&L Foundry No. 95 a single marker behind Johnson's Stenhouse Jr., Racing - Curb / Agajanian Performance Group No. 41 with Johnny Herrera currently making up the top five in driver standings, 11 points away from Tony Bruce, Jr. in the Mesilla Valley Transportation No. 45x.


Currently sixth in driver standings, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. is a past winner at the I-30 Speedway, picking up a prelim win during the 2010 Short Track Nationals.


Seth Bergman holds seventh with Brad Loyet eighth. 2014 Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Blake Hahn is currently ninth with Jeff Swindell hoping to pick up points from tenth with a second I-30 win to his resume.


Aaron Reutzel looks to rebound from a failed engine at the Devil's Bowl as he rides eleventh with Brandon Hahn twelfth. Joe Wood, Jr. has announced intentions to try the full National Tour in 2014. The Oklahoma City native is currently thirteenth in the Oil Field Equipment and Manufacturing No. 11.


Saturday, April 12 is scheduled to be the 68th Lucas Oil ASCS show held at the I-30 Speedway since the first National Tour event won by Mike Ward on May 15, 1993. In all, 26 drivers have claimed at least one Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour win at the I-30 Speedway. Of those, 14 have multiple wins.


Events are scheduled to begin at 7:30 P.M. (CT) with gates to the Grandstands and Pits opening at 5:00 P.M. Tickets are $20 in advance or $25 at the gate. Tickets can be purchased at the I-30 Speedway office. For more information, call 501-455-4567 or log onto http://www.i-30speedway.com.


Past I-30 Speedway Winners: Gary Wright 13, Jason Johnson 8, Garry Lee Maier 4, Tim Crawley 4, Tony Bruce, Jr. 4, Mike Ward 3, Sammy Swindell 3, Terry Gray 3, Wayne Johnson 3, Brad Sweet 2, Brady Bacon 2, Danny Lasoski 2, Shane Stewart 2, Travis Rilat 2, Anthony Nicholson, Eric Sandage, Jack Dover, Jason Meyers, Jeff Swindell, Nick Smith, Paul McMahan, Pete Butler, Ricky Logan, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Tim Shaffer, Zach Chappell


The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real


Hammer Hill Showdown



Saturday, April 12 - Open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:30 P.M.


I-30 Speedway
Address: 12297 I-30,
Little Rock, Ar. 72209


Contact Information:

Website: http://www.i-30speedway.com
Email: raceytlc@sbcglobal.net
Phone: 501-455-4567

Event Coverage:

Online audio will be available at http://www.racinboys.com. Live broadcasts are brought to you by Lucas Oil and presented by the McCarthy Auto Group, located in the Kansas City metropolitan area.


Line-ups, finishes, and further updates are provided throughout each race night at http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs and http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs.


Live Timing and scoring is available at most Lucas Oil ASCS events via Race Monitor that is available in the App Store of your Smart Phone or Tablet. The American Sprint Car Series app can also be downloaded for free in the Google Play store.




2014 A-Feature Winner(s): Rico Abreu-2, Tony Bruce, Jr. - 1, Patrick Stasa - 1


2014 Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 15): 1. Christopher Bell 549; 2. Tony Bruce, Jr. 459; 3. Jason Johnson 458; 4. Matt Covington 457; 5. Johnny Herrera 448; 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 443; 7. Seth Bergman 441; 8. Brad Loyet 427; 9. Blake Hahn 422; 10. Jeff Swindell 413; 11. Aaron Reutzel 368; 12. Brandon Hahn 329; 13. Joe Wood, Jr. 309; 14. Rico Abreu 300; 15. John Carney II 267;


Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...