Jump to content

McGehee Claims Season Finale while Hurd NCRA Modified Champion


Recommended Posts

McGehee Claims Season Finale while Hurd NCRA Modified Champion!




FOR IMMEIDATE RELEASE – Park City, Kansas – October 28, 2013 - Jason McGehee may have started on the pole for the final National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified feature of the season Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City and found victory lane yet it wasn’t what it appears, And while McGehee found the victory, Marc Hurd laid claim to his second consecutive tour championship and third career with the series.


By virtue of picking up the victory in Friday night’s ;prelim for the annual Wix Filters/Bumper to Bumper Fall Classic, McGehee started on the pole for the thirty lap feature with Cecil Dymond sitting alongside. A couple of cautions delayed the start, including which involved Hurd and Josh Everhart which sent both drivers to the tail after getting together in turns one and two.


McGehee jumped into the lead once the feature finale finally went green and opened up a two car length lead over Dustin Belcher. McGehee worked the top side of the three-eighths mile oval while Belcher’s preferred line was down low. With a couple of drivers involved in the earlier cautions, former tour champion Tyler Davis worked his way up from his 12th starting position and was up to the third position by lap three.


McGehee would open a six car length lead over Belcher by lap nine while behind the top three, fifteenth starting Brian Franz continued his mastery of the speedway to work his way up to fourth by lap ten.


By this time Davis had caught the lead due and on lap thirteen passed Belcher for the runner up position and would set his sights on the leader. With McGehee entering lapped traffic on lap fifteen, Davis found his opportunity to take the lead and pulled even with the leader exiting turn two and would take the lead on lap eighteen. Franz would follow him through and take over the runner up position.


Franz had his GRT chassis hooked up as he got a run underneath Davis entering turn three on lap nineteen and would then take the lead.


Franz, who had started last in the night’s “C” feature and worked his way out of the “B” feature to transfer into the feature finale, got into looked to check out from the rest of the field as he quickly opened a half stretch lead over Davis by lap 22 but his pace would be slowed when the caution fell on lap 26 when Kirk Coleman spun in turns one and two. After Ross Shipman brought out the final caution on the attempted restart, Franz again jumped out front with Davis and McGehee giving chase.


It appeared Franz would be on his way to his tour leading fourth feature victory of the season but with three laps to go, the former five-time tour champion slowed exiting turn two and would retire pit side with a flat right rear. David inherit the lead and that only lasted one lap when McGehee pressured him for the top position and retook the lead exiting turn two heading down the backstretch.


McGehee would go on to claim his second career tour victory while behind him, thirteenth starting A.J. Brochu of Enid, Oklahoma had worked his way up through the field and caught Davis with two laps to go and passed him to take over the runner up position. He would go on to finish second with Davis holding on to finish third. Belcher settled for fourth while fourteenth starting Josh Lanterman followed Davis through the “C” and “B” features to round out the top five.


McGehee would also lay claim to the 2013 NCRA rookie of the year title with the tour.


Hurd would finish eighths and that was enough to officially clinch the championship. He and the rest of the top ten in the final point standings will be officially crowned at the yearend banquet in late January.


The night’s eight lap “C” feature was won by Coleman while Shipman laid claim to the twelve lap “B” feature.


NCRA Modifieds


81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas


(405) 740-4769




31 Cars


C Feature: 1) Kirk Coleman, 2) Tyler Davis, 3) Rodney Chaffin, 4) Josh Lanterman, 5) Bob Bills, 6) Craig Miller, 7) Eric Chesterman, 8) Gary Kilbourn, 9) JR Sandlion, 10) Brian Franz, DNS: Danny Moss, Derrick Johnson


B Feature: 1) Ross Shipman, 2) Tyler Davis, 3) A.J. Brochu, 4) Josh Lanterman, 5) Brian Franz, 6) Robbie Simmons, 7) Carson McKeen, 8) Kirk Coleman, 9) Neil Dossie, 10) Cuyler Calkin, 11) Rodney Chaffin, 12) Johnny Whitmore, 13) Jase Wedel, 14) Jimmy Brozek, 15) Gary Kilbourn, 16) Don Hodge, 17) Craig Miller, 18) Eric Chesterman, 19) JR Sandlion, 20) Bob Bills


A Feature: 1) Jason McGehee, 2) A.J. Brochu, 3) Tyler Davis, 4) Dustin Belcher, 5) Josh Lanterman, 6) Ross Shipman, 7) Beau Smith, 8) Marc Hurd, 9) Culyer Calkin, 10) Neil Dossie, 11) Kirk Coleman, 12) Dan Powers, 13) Chris Potts, 14) Brian Franz, 15) Carson McKeen, 16) Cecil Dymond, 17) Richard Wilson, 18) Robbie Simmons, 19) Josh Everhart, 20) Adam Schrag

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...