Jump to content

STN Early Entry Deadline is Thursday


Recommended Posts

STN Early Entry Deadline is Thursday


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 15, 2013) As the anticipation mounts with each passing day, the pre-entry discount deadline for I-30 Speedways 26th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires is just two days away.




Those entering the prestigious event by Thursday, October 17, can save $100 on the entry fee. The entry fee for those entering by the deadline is $150. Those entering after that date will be $250. Entry forms are available at http://www.i-30speedway.com/flyers/stn_flyer2013.pdf or by calling 501-455-4567.




The entry count has already soared well past the half-century mark with the expected final count to number approximately 100 entries from throughout the nation.




Set for October 24-26 after Wednesday nights (October 25) $2,500-to-win Inaugural Short Track Open, more than $100,000 in purse money will be distributed over the weekend with the winner of Saturday night, October 26, 40-lap STN Championship finale pocketing $15,000. All those making the cut for the STN Championship finale will earn a minimum of $2,500.




Last year, Paul McMahan became just the fifth multi-time STN winner by besting a field of 94 competitors for his first Short Track Nationals championship since 2002, denying young gun Christopher Bell the lucrative payday in the process.




Others that have claimed multiple STN honors include four-time champion Gary Wright (1995, 1999, 2003, 2004), Steve Kinser (1988, 1989, 1991), Sammy Swindell (1990, 2011) and Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008, 2009).




Other past Short Track Nationals winners include Brad Sweet (2010), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994) and John Gerloff (1993). The 1992 edition fell victim to rain.




The Pertinent Info:


The What: 26th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires.




The Where: I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR). I-30 Speedway is located seven miles southwest of Little Rock off I-30 Exit 126 (Alexander Road).




The When: Thursday, Friday and Saturday, October 24-26, 2013. $15,000 to win the STN finale on October 26 with $2,500 to start the STN championship feature. Race time is 7:30 p.m. each night. Rain date is October 31, November 1 & November 2. The $2,500 to win and $200 to start Inaugural Short Track Nationals Open kicks off all the action on Wednesday, October 23, at 7:30 p.m.




The Format: The format introduced in 2011 will once again be in effect. Approximately half the field will take to the track in the Thursday night qualifying event, with the other half in Fridays qualifying event. The top three from each night will be locked into Saturday nights $15,000-to-win, $2,500-to-start STN Championship Finale. Those six drivers will battle it out in Saturdays Dash for Cash to determine the alignment of the front three rows of the championship main event.




Beyond that, drivers will be lined up on Saturday night in twin B Mains, twin C Mains, twin D Mains, twin E Mains and F Mains if necessary. Four drivers will transfer from each F to E, E to D, D to C and C to B, with seven advancing from each B Main to form the 20-car STN championship main event field.




The popular format of heats and qualifying races will once again be in place on the Thursday and Friday qualifying nights. The top 14 in cumulative points from heats and qualifiers will be locked into that nights main event, with two or three B Mains depending upon car count contested to fill out the qualifying night feature field.




Points earned in qualifying night heat races, qualifiers and features will set Saturday nights feature lineups.




Wednesdays Short Track Nationals Open will have no impact upon Thursday, Friday or Saturday lineups, with the exception that the top finisher among Wednesdays top four that is unable to qualifying for Saturday nights STN finale will be offered a provisional.




Wednesdays STN Open will include heat races lined up by pill draw with passing points in effect that will set lineups for the B Main(s) (multiple B Mains if necessary depending upon car count) and A Main.




The Past Winners: Paul McMahan (2012 and 2002), Sammy Swindell (2011 and 1990), Brad Sweet (2010), Tony Bruce, Jr. (2009 and 2008), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Gary Wright (2004, 2003, 1999 and 1995), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994), John Gerloff (1993), Steve Kinser (1991, 89 and 88). 1992 finale was rained out.




The Tickets: Advance tickets for either three or four nights are on sale through Monday, October 21, no advance sales after that. Single night tickets are not available in advance. Tickets ordered in advance are just $61 for all four nights (Wednesday through Saturday) or $51 for three nights (Thursday through Saturday) with $1 off if paying cash.




Day of show prices are $16 on Wednesday, $21 on Thursday and Friday and $26 on Saturday with a $1 discount per ticket if paying cash.




Children's tickets will be available at the event only for just $2 on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and then $6 on Saturday.




To order tickets in advance or for more information, call the track at 501-455-4567 or e-mail orders to raceytlc@sbcglobal.net.




Pit passes are $26 on Wednesday, $31 on both Thursday and Friday and $36 on Saturday with a $1 discount per pit pass if paying by cash.




The PPV: Cant make your way to Little Rock, AR, for this prestigious event? Once again you can still catch every lap of the action on your computer via live Pay-Per-View. Just check out www.shorttracknationals.com for pricing and ordering information. Orders are being taken now.




The Trade Show & Midway: This years rendition of the Short Track Nationals will also include the Ninth Annual Short Track Nationals Trade Show & Midway. Fans, drivers & crews will have the opportunity to visit vendor displays, which opens at noon on Wednesday and then at 9 a.m. on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. The deadline for guaranteed vendor space is Monday, October 21. Inquiries regarding vendor space should be directed to dssm93@msn.com.






For more information regarding the 26th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires, contact I-30 Speedway at 501-455-4567.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...