Jump to content

Stand Packer Night a success at Salina Speedway


Recommended Posts

Stand Packer Night a Success at Salina Speedway


by Dusty Wiegert


SALINA, Kan. -- With over half the season in the books a special event took place for the first time as Stand Packer Night kicked in.


Drivers were given packs of tickets to give away during the previous two weeks and a prize was to be given out to the driver whose tickets return for admission. Mod Lite driver Brian Davidson won the contest with the most tickets returning. The total amount of fans in the stands, a little over 2,000, saw some of the best racing of the season.


Hoisington's Mike Petersilie had struggled all year in the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified division but finally put together a solid effort to win in the division. Jerry Phillips led early until a lost driveshaft ended his evening. Rodger Peck inherited the lead but that was short lived as well as his driveshaft fell out a lap later. From there it was all Petersilie, holding off Danny Morrison Jr., Joe Cleveland, and Larry Sutton for the win. Morrison was the Hard Charger after starting tenth and finishing second. Sutton, Geoff Jermark, and Petersilie were the heat winners.


For last year's rookie of the year in the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMods, Jesse Levin, it was only a matter of time before his #11J returned to victory lane. He did so this week by holding off a host of challengers for the win. Mark Franklin finished second followed by Jeff Olson in third and Chad Markley in fourth. Markley was the Hard Charger after starting nineteenth and finishing fourth. Eric Ingram, Seth Schroer, and Levin won the heat races.


Corbin Pickerill was headed for a two in a row win streak until the last few feet of the Auto House Mod Lite feature. Pickerill looked unstoppable but with a few laps remaining Brandon Gray closed in and coming out of turn four on the last lap pulled even and ahead by a nose to win at the finish line in a photo finish. Following Gray and Pickerill were Tyler Wilson in third and Bam Ayers in fourth. Pickerill was the Hard Charger after starting tenth. Pickerill and Ayers won the heat races.


It was a long time coming but Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock driver Duane McAnarney finally pulled into Victory Lane for his first win at the Speedway. McAnarney outran Hard Charger Mike Traskowsky, who advanced from a tenth place starting spot. Aaron McBride finished third and Pete Beaumont fourth. McAnarney, Beaumont, and GW Fuller won the heat races.


Stacey Fuller scored her second feature win of the season in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock division in another caution plagued race. Russell Roberg led early only to be tagged by Wade Heller and sent around. Roberg restarted from the rear and ran up to a second place finish behind Fuller. Jeremy Hedberg finished third and Eric Unruh fourth. George McNabb, subbing for grandson John for the night, was the Hard Charger after starting fourteenth and finishing eighth. Heller and Roberg won the heat races.


Racing continues next Friday night as the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors and Cave Diver's Liquor returns along with the Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars.


For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit http://www.racesalinaspeedway.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...