Jump to content

Berck lays claim to NCRA Late Model Nationals at Mid-Nebraska


Recommended Posts

Berck Lays Claim to NCRA Late Model Nationals at Mid-Nebraska


Doniphan, Nebraska – July 14, 2012 - Former two-time series champion Kyle Berck withstood several race challenges from early leader Bill Livingston to claim the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products late model feature Saturday night during the running of the eleventh annual NCRA Late Model Nationals at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan, Nebraska.


Leighton got the jump on the field at the start of the twenty-five lap championship feature and quickly opened up a five car length lead over Berck. However the race would be slowed on lap two when the first of two cautions of the feature fell when Justin Gregg stopped on the back stretch with a broken rear end.


Leighton again powered out front and kept the pace up top while drivers were battling side by side for position behind him. The final caution of the night would fall on lap six when Gary Gorby, Bob Milander and Brad Wagoner all made contact and wrecked in turn three.


On the restart it was time for Berck to make his move as he would run the bottom portion of the three-eighths mile oval while Leighton would stay committed to the top. Leighton would lead up to the races midway point before Berck would pull even, both racing side by side.


The battle for the lead stayed that way until Leighton finally gave up the lead on lap eighteen. From there Berck would hold on to claim his fourth career NCRA Late Model Nationals victory and first since 2007.


Leighton settled for second while Tommy Weder, Jr. came home with a strong third. Travis Dickies, Todd Pospisil and Matt Johnson rounded out the top five.


The eight lap heat races for the twenty-two car field were won by Weder, Jr., Dickies and Leighton while Milander took top honors in the eight lap “B” feature.


The next event for the NCRA late model division will be a huge double header weekend on August 3-4 as the tour meets up with the Missouri based MARS late model division for the first time in 2012. It all starts off that Friday night at Eagle Raceway in Lincoln, Nebraska. Both tours will then head south to the home of the NCRA, 81 Speedway in Park City on Saturday night.


1st Heat: 1) Tommy Weder, Jr. 2) Kyle Berck 3) Chad Dolan 4) Brian Kenkel 5) Gary Gorby 6) Brad Wagoner 7) Jacob Brown 8) Chris Avery


2nd Heat: 1) Travis Dickies 2) Todd Pospisal 3) Craig Preble 4) Justin Zeitner 5) Bo Egge 6) Les Seibert 7) Vince Wagoner


3rd Heat: 1) Bill Leighton 2) Justin Gregg 3) Matt Johnson 4) Mike Wiarda 5) Bob Milander 6) Steve Kempt 7) Dan Battaglia


B Feature: 1) Bob Milander 2) Les Seibert 3) Steve Kempt 4) Chris Avery 5) Jacob Brown 6) Brad Wagoner 7) Vince Wagoner 8) Dan Ballaglia


A Feature: 1) Kyle Berck 2) Bill Leighton 3) Tommy Weder, Jr. 4) Travis Dickies 5) Todd Pospisil 6) Matt Johnson 7) Justin Zeitner 8) Mike Wiarda 9) Chad Dolan 10) Brian Kenkel 11) Craig Preble 12) Steve Kempt 13) Jacob Brown 14) Les Seibert 15) Chris Avery 16) Bo Egge 17) Gary Gorby 18) Bob Milander 19) Brad Wagoner 20) Justin Gregg

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...