Jump to content

Knoell and Smith score 2nd Annual Topless Challenge wins

Recommended Posts

Knoell and Smith Score 2nd Annual Topless Challenge Wins


by Dusty Wiegert


SALINA, Kan. -- For the second year at the Salina Speedway teams removed the roofs on several modifieds to take part in the Topless Challenge presented by Crazy Ed's Fireworks, Xtreme Motorsports, and BSB Manufacturing.


On this night it would be a long time veteran of the Speedway marking down the biggest win of his career as Brian Knoell won the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified A Feature and took home a cool $1,000.


The race started out with Jeff Welsh leading from the pole but with Tyler Sutton right on his tail. Knoell closed in early as well from the sixth place starting spot and the three waged a sometimes three wide race for the lead. Knoell finally was able to pass both while Welsh and Sutton began to fade. Last year's champion, Darrick Klima, piloted the borrowed 9J to the runner-up spot but couldn't get around Knoell. Knoell crossed first followed by Klima, a resurgent Danny Morrison Jr., and Joe Cleveland. Larry Sutton was the Hard Charger of the race after starting fourteenth and finishing fifth. Corey Lagroon, Knoell, Grant Junghans, and Cleveland won the heat races. Jesse Richter took the win in the B Feature.


Joining the Modifieds in the topless category this year was the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMods. Tyler Frye was able to easily jump out front early and was briefly challenged at the end of the feature by Dan Smith before crossing the stripe first in an event sponsored by Xtreme Motorsports and BSB Manufacturing. Smith finished second with Jesse Levin in third and Chad Markley in fourth. In post-race tech inspections Frye's car came up light at the scales, giving the win to Smith. Seth Schroer was the Hard Charger after starting eighteenth and finishing fourth. Kurtis Pihl, Markley, and Josh Rice were the heat winners.


With the topless festivities in mind some of the Auto House Mod Lite drivers also elected to run topless. Dustin Forsberg looked to have things in hand once again until mechanical problems sidelined his machine. Brandon Gray took over from there and was pressured by Chris Unruh before taking the win. Unruh finished second with Brian Davidson in third and Corbin Pickerill fourth. Unruh was the Hard Charger after starting ninth and finishing seventh. Pickerill and Unruh were the heat winners.


A wild Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock main event was in store for a packed grandstand as GW Fuller posted another victory. The packs sometimes ran three wide in a very competitive feature event. Tony Slothower finished second with Mike Traskowsky third and Duane McAnarney fourth. Tommy Fose was the Hard Charger after starting twentieth and finishing sixth. Dennis Berry, McAnarney, and Pete Beaumont were the heat winners.


Brian Dunsworth survived an attrition affected T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock feature to win his first race at the Speedway. Dunsworth was followed across the line by Brendon Thiessen, Elliott May, and Les Wright. May was the Hard Charger after starting eleventh and finishing third. Dunsworth and Russell Roberg won the heat races.


Racing continues next Friday night at the Salina Speedway as the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors and Cave Diver's Liquor and Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars both return. Race time is set for 8PM.


For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit www.racesalinaspeedway.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...