Jump to content

Weder wins first ever NCRA Late Model victory at Enid Speedway!

Recommended Posts

Weder Wins First Ever NCRA Late Model Victory at Enid Speedway


Enid, Oklahoma – July 5, 2012 - Just 24 hours after modified turned late model driver Chase Junghans captured his first career late model victory, another former modified driver turned the same feat as Woodward, Oklahoma driver Tommy Weder, Jr. took the lead at the start and never looked back in claiming the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by G&G Dozer late model division made their first and only appearance of the season at Enid Speedway in Enid, Oklahoma on a special 4th of July event.


Ricky Thornton, Jr. and Weder started on the front row for the twenty-five lap feature with Weder jumping out into the lead as the green flag fell. Weder started to pull away from the rest of the field before the first caution of the feature fell when Damian Patocka climbed over the wall entering turn one.


Weder jumped out front on the restart and distanced himself from the rest of the field. He was approaching lapped traffic for the first time on lap six when Cliff Morrow came to a stop at the bottom of turn three.


The restart was much the same as he once again distanced himself from the rest of the field, catching the back of the field once again, this time on at the races midway point. The veteran modified driver worked the lapped traffic to perfection and would go on unchallenged the rest of the way to take the half stretch victory over Thornton. Missouri drivers Matt Johnson and Tony Jackson, Jr. finished third and fourth respectively while Gary Christian rounded out the top five.


The eight lap heat races for the twenty car field were won by Thornton, Jackson and Weder.


The next event for the tour will be on Saturday night, July 14, at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan, Nebraska and the running of the 11th annual “NCRA Late Model Nationals.”


1st Heat: 1) Ricky Thornton (Chandler, Az), 2) Jeep Berry (Grand Junction, Co), 3) Andrew Kosiski (Omaha, Ne), 4) Cliff Morrow (Enid, OK), 5) Steve Johnson (Joplin, Mo), 6) Jay Sale (Edmond), 7) Mark Brill (Nicoma Park, Ok)


2nd Heat: 1) Tony Jackson Jr. (Lebanon, Mo), 2) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM), 3) Gary Gorby (Caney, Ks), 4) Clay Daly (Watsonville, Ca), 5) Chris Kratzer (Wichita, Ks), 6) Brad Wagoner (Colby, Ks), 7) Damian Patocka


3rd Heat: 1) Tommy Weder, Jr. (Woodward, Ok), 2) Matt Johnson (Archie, Mo), 3) Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Ok), 4) Ronnie Warman (Wichita, Ks), 5) Eric Brill (Nicoma Park, Ok), 6) Dan Battaglia (Gretna, Ne)


A Feature: 1) Tommy Weder, Jr. (Woodward, Ok), 2) Ricky Thornton (Chandler, Az), 3) Matt Johnson (Archie, Mo), 4) Tony Jackson Jr (Lebanon, Mo), 5) Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Ok), 6) Gary Gorby (Caney, Ks), 7) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM), 8) Clay Daly (Watsonville, Ca), 9) Jeep Berry (Grand Junction, Co), 10) Andrew Kosiski (Omaha, Ne), 11) Chris Kratzer (Wichita, Ks), 12) Ronnie Warman (Wichita, Ks), 13) Brad Wagoner (Colby, Ks), 14) Jay Sale (Edmond, Ok), 15) Cliff Morrow (Enid, OK), 16) Mark Brill (Nicoma Park, Ok), 17) Eric Brill (Nicoma Park, Ok), 18) Damian Patocka, 19) Dan Battaglia (Gretna, Ne), 20) Steve Johnson (Joplin, Mo)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...