Jump to content

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Kicks off Month of July in Ohio


Recommended Posts

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Kicks off Month of July in Ohio



WAYCROSS, GA (June 29, 2012) - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series kicks off the month of July with a pair of shows in the Buckeye State of Ohio. Sunday, July 1st, the series travels to Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH. Then, on Tuesday, July 3rd, the series makes it's annual trip to Muskingum County Speedway in Zanesville, OH.


The LOLMDS event on Sunday, at Portsmouth Raceway Park is sponsored by Grover Motorsports and Engines and Tuesday night's show at Muskingum County Speedway will be sponsored by Budweiser. There will be two complete shows at both tracks including Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and 50 lap $10,000 to win feature events.


The visit to Portsmouth Raceway Park on July 1st will mark the seventh appearance at the Donna Rayburn-promoted facility, located along the Ohio River. Scott Bloomquist won the last two stops at PRP for the series in 2011. Other drivers who have notched wins at the track in LOLMDS competition include; Steve Francis, Josh McGuire of Grayson, KY, Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr. and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA. For more information on the Grover Motorsports and Engines-sponsored event at Portsmouth Raceway Park go to www.portsraceway.com.


After a day off on Monday, the series will head to the Ronnie Moran-promoted Muskingum County Speedway. The track has been on the LOLMDS schedule since 2005 and has produced seven different winners in seven races. Those that have been in Lucas Oil Victory Lane at Muskingum County Speedway include Don O'Neal, Steve Shaver, Steve Casebolt, Dan Schlieper, Jason Covert, Earl Pearson Jr., and last year's winner, Scott Bloomquist. For more information on the Budweiser 50 at Muskingum County Speedway, visit www.themuskingumcountyspedway.com.


Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, the defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion (and current point's leader) heads the list of series stars that will be on hand for both shows. Owens holds a 295-point lead over 2-time LOLMDS Titleist and Hall-of-Famer Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN. Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN, leads the series with eight wins in 2012 and is currently third in points. He is followed by Steve Francis of Ashland, KY, and Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA.


Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, the 4-time series champion, is sixth in points, followed by John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; Eric Wells of Hazard, KY; and Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE. Davenport leads Hubbard in the chase for the 2012 LOLMDS Quarter Master Rookie-of-the-Year honors.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series' website at www.lucasdirt.com.


To keep up with all the action "Live" as it happens click on www.lucasdirt.com/live.

Be sure to visit the series on our social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.



Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship Points Standings

1.Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) - 3725

2.Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) - 3430

3.Don O'Neal (Martinsville, IN) - 3375

4.Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) - 3320

5.Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) - 3225

6.Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) - 3155

7.John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) - 3090

8.Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) - 2975

9.Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) - 2900

10.Eric Wells (Hazard, KY) - 2870


Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Points Standings

1.Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) - 3225

2.Austin Hubbard (Seaford, DE) - 2845

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...