Jump to content

Clyde Dunn Jr. COMP Cams SMP Action at Lone Star Speedway

Recommended Posts

Clyde Dunn Jr. COMP Cams SMP Action at Lone Star Speedway


by Ben Shelton


Kilgore, Texas (June 10, 2011) – Clyde Dunn Jr. led all thirty laps in Round #4 of the COMP Cams SMP Longhorn Speedweek Presented By Racing Head Service at Lone Star Speedway (Kilgore, Texas) to claim the $1,500 win.


Once again twenty-six cars entered the event and qualifying was led by local standout, Justin Ingalls from Longview, Texas, and as a result Ingalls earned the pole position for the main event with Clyde Dunn Jr. starting to his outside. Dunn Jr. jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Bobby Malchus, Justin Ingalls, Jason Ingalls, and Tyler Townsend in tow.

The first caution of the event flew on lap two as third running, Justin Ingalls slowed with an expired engine.


With the race resuming green flag conditions it was Dunn Jr. surviving a series of cautions to claim the win over his teammate, Bobby Malchus, Tyler Townsend, TJ Herndon, and Mike Dillard.


A hot lap incident brought Stormy Scott’s week to a likely end with heavy chassis damage. With two events remaining, Peyton Taylor leads the way with Tyler Townsend just two points back in second and TJ Herndon four points back in third.

Round #5 of the COMP Cams SMP Longhorn Speedweek will see the tour in action at RMP Speedway (Crandall, Texas) with another $1,500 to win/$125 to start event on Friday, June 10th. For more information, please visit www.SMPSeries.com and www.RPMSpeedwayofTexas.com .


The COMP Cams SMP Series would like to thank COMP Cams, Racing Head Service, RacingJunk.com, Lunati, Quarter Master, MRW, Klotz Synthetics, The Brake Man, MSRMafia.com Marketing Services, and Todd's Body Shop.


COMP Cams SMP Longhorn Speedweek Presented By Racing Head Service

Lone Star Speedway (Kilgore, TX)

June 9th, 2011 Results

Feature Results

1. Clyde Dunn Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX)

2. Bobby Malchus (Red Oak, TX)

3. Tyler Townsend (Longview, TX)

4. TJ Herndon (Batesville, AR)

5. Mike Dillard (Allen, TX)

6. Jason Ingalls (Longview, TX)

7. Cody Simpson (Quinlan, TX)

8. Jared Webb (McKinney, TX)

9. Jeremy Ishmael (Tyler, TX)

10. Larry Fears (Kilgore, TX)

11. Bobby Gibson (Gladewater)

12. Cody Robbins (Stanley, LA)

13. Peyton Taylor (Batesville, AR)

14. Doug Byrns (Tyler, TX)

15. Billly Brutchen (Gladewater, TX)

16. Ronnie McAteer (Longview, TX)

17. Ross Malone II (Powderly, TX)

18. Danny Stephens (Marshall, TX)

19. Chase Allen (Midlothian, TX)

20. Justin Ingalls (Longview, TX)

21. Kelly Lockey (Tyler, TX)

22. Thomas Blackwell (Crandall, TX)


DNS: Jared Hudson, Wes Armstrong, Stormy Scott, James Savering

Entries: 26 (Representing Six States: TN, AR, TX, OK, LA, NM)

Cautions: 0

Red Flags: 0

Lap Leaders: Clyde Dunn Jr. (1-30)

The Brake Man Winner’s Circle Bonus: Clyde Dunn Jr.

MRW Race Wheels Pole Qualifier: Justin Ingalls (17.886 seconds)

Todd’s Body Shop Fast Qualifier Award: Justin Ingalls (17.886 seconds)

RacingJunk.com B-Main #1 Winner: TJ Herndon

MRW Race Wheels B-Main #2 Winner: Jeremy Ishmael

COMP Cams Hard Charger: Larry Fears

Lunati Cams First Non-Qualifier Award: James Savering

Quarter Master Second Non-Qualifier Award: Jared Hudson

Klotz Synthetics Third Non-Qualifier Award: Wes Armstrong

Racing Head Service Hard Luck Award: Stormy Scott

COMP SMP Series Provisional: Kelly Lockey

Track Provisional: Larry Fears

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...