Jump to content

Brian Brown bags ASCS Midwest loot at I-80


Recommended Posts

Brian Brown Bags ASCS Midwest Loot at I-80


by Lonnie Wheatley


Greenwood, Nebraska (April 9, 2011) – Brian Brown emerged from an early duel with Don Droud, Jr., to take the $3,000 winner’s share in Saturday night’s 25-lap Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest main event at I-80 Speedway.


After swapping the point several times in the early going, Brown took command for keeps on the eleventh circuit aboard the FVP No. 21 Maxim and went on to a series’ best 18th career Midwest win and 24th overall ASCS triumph.


While Droud gunned into the lead from the pole position for the second night in a row, fourth-starter Brown put on the pressure immediately and raced into the lead exiting turn four on the seventh circuit only to have Droud slide back in front a half lap later.


Brown battled back in front in turn four on the eleventh round and made it stick, leading the rest of the way for eighth I-80 Speedway in ASCS Midwest action.


Fifth after 15 laps, Wayne Johnson surged over the final circuits into second and was poised to challenge for the victory when a final caution flew with two to go, only to struggle with a cut left rear tire on the restart.


Johnson held on for runner-up honors, with 11th-starter Jack Dover, Droud and Friday night winner Seth Bergman rounding out the top five. Ryan Anderson was sixth, with Terry McCarl, Billy Alley, Gregg Bakker and Tony Bruce, Jr., completing the top ten.


Anderson, Brown, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., and Johnson topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 39-car field, with Russ Hall and Bruce, Jr., winning the “B” Mains.


Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Results from I-80 Speedway:


First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 71r-Ryan Anderson, 2. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 3. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 4. 31-Mark Pace, 5. 18r-Ryan Roberts, 6. 21x-Ryan Kitchen, 7. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 8. 71-Tige Jensen, 9. 77-John Klabunde. DNS: 32-Toby Chapman.



Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 53-Jack Dover, 3. 45c-Russ Hall, 4. 1w-Chad Meyer, 5. 2L-Logan Forler, 6. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. 82-Jason Danley, 8. 21c-Justyn Cox, 9. 47-Brandt O’banion, 10. 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl.


Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. 4j-Lee Grosz, 3. 28-Mitch Runge, 4. 12-Tyler Drueke, 5. 17-Gage Dorr, 6. 10d-Danielle Ossenfort, 7. 4-Jordan Boston, 8. 45x-C.J. Johnson, 9. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 10. 7k-Robby Wolfgang.



Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. 38-Wayne Johnson, 2. 24a-Terry McCarl, 3. 23-Seth Bergman, 4. 22-Billy Alley, 5. 51-Mike Hess, 6. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 7. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 8. 0-Jeff Osborn, 9. 17b-Ryan Bickett.



First “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 45c-Russ Hall, 2. 31-Mark Pace, 3. 2L-Logan Forler, 4. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 5. 21c-Justyn Cox, 6. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 7. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 8. 0-Jeff Osborn, 9. 10d-Danielle Ossenfort, 10. 32-Toby Chapman. DNS: 71-Tige Jensen, 4-Jordan Boston, 77-John Klabunde.



Second “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. 51-Mike Hess, 3. 47-Brandt O’banion, 4. 21x-Ryan Kitchen, 5. 82-Jason Danley, 6. 17b-Ryan Bickett, 7. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 8. 7k-Robby Wolfgang, 9. 12-Tyler Drueke, 10. 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl, 11. 17-Gage Dorr. DNS: 45x-C.J. Johnson.



"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 38-Wayne Johnson, 3. 53-Jack Dover, 4. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 5. 23-Seth Bergman, 6. 71r-Ryan Anderson, 7. 24a-Terry McCarl, 8. 22-Billy Alley, 9. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 10. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 11. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 12. 21c-Justyn Cox, 13. 51-Mike Hess, 14. 18r-Ryan Roberts, 15. 2L-Logan Forler, 16. 4j-Lee Grosz, 17. 31-Mark Pace, 18. 1w-Chad Meyer, 19. 82-Jason Danley, 20. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 21. 47-Brandt O’banion, 22. 21x-Ryan Kitchen, 23. 28-Mitch Runge, 24. 45c-Russ Hall.



Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Brian Brown 292, 2. Seth Bergman 275, 3. Wayne Johnson 272, 4. Don Droud, Jr. 265, 5. Jack Dover 260, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 229, 7. Gregg Bakker 226, 8. Ryan Anderson 224, 9. Lee Grosz 220, 10. Logan Forler 208.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...