Jump to content

UMP Late Models at Southern New Mexico Speedway 4/2/11


Recommended Posts

Results for UMP Late Models at Southern New Mexico Speedway on Saturday, April 2nd


In their first start as the UMP Late Models at the Southern New Mexico Speedway, it would be a pair of northern NM drivers on the front row as the 72 of Jeff Wyman and the 28 of Ron Frazier would lead the field to the green. On the start, the 28 of Frazier would jump into the lead but would have to try and do it again as the caution waved for the spun 37h of Garrett Higgins. Back to green it would be the 72 of Wyman but not for long as Frazier would fight back to the top spot as the caution waved again for Higgins; ending the night early for the 37h. Back to green flag racing and the cars on the move were the 37 of Dr. Dave Deetz and the 43 of Garrett Alberson as both drivers worked the bottom the Speedway. Into the race lead shot the 37 of Deetz but not for long as Alberson put his 43 hard on the right rear; ripping the left front off the ground to make the pass into the lead before the caution waved with 7 laps to run. To the Delaware Double File Restart and Sherman Barnett would take away second from Deetz as the 43 of Garrett Alberson pulled away. Back to second, Deetz would work on running down Alberson as Barnett ran third with Jeff Wyman and Ronnie Bell rounding out the top five. With laps clicking off the Pepsi/MVT scoreboard, the 43 of Garrett Alberson would run away for this first UMP Late Model win with Dave Deetz, Sherman Barnett, Jeff Wyman, and Ronnie Bell rounding in the top five. Post race tech inspection however would find the top 2 both with infractions that ended in disqualification, thus the top five officially became Sherman Barnett, Jeff Wyman, Ronnie Bell, Jonathan Ortega, and Donnie Newcomb.



1.) Sherman Barnett

2.) Jeff Wyman

3.) Ronnie Bell

4.) Johnathan Ortega

5.) Donnie Newcomb

6.) Lee Heiligenthal

7.) Ron Frazier

8.) Cliff Hanson

9.) Garrett Higgons

10.) Manny Baca

11.) Garrett Albertson

12.) Dave Deetz





Cory Moul

Championship Late Model Association DIRTcar Series

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...