Jump to content

Phillips goes up top to take home IMCA Duel In The Desert jackpot


Recommended Posts

Phillips goes up top to take home IMCA Duel In The Desert jackpot


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 13) – Terry Phillips went to the extreme high side of the half-mile dirt track Saturday night at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


As a result, the Springfield, Mo., hotshoe went home with the $7,777 winner’s share of the IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert feature purse.


Phillips reeled in race-long leader Bobby Hogge IV on the 32nd of 40 laps, then held off pole starter Jordan Grabouski to take the top paying event on the 2010 IMCA Modified schedule. Hogge, Terry Belcher Jr. and Todd Shute followed.


Two-time and defending race winner Johnny Saathoff advanced 11 positions from where he started to finish sixth. Matt Brack made the biggest charge toward the front, ending up ninth after taking the green from dead last in the 28 car field.


Hogge was quick to take the lead from his outside row one spot, with Jeff Taylor, Grabouski, David Murray Jr. and Terry Belcher Jr. in tow. The 10th starting Phillips went topside early on, while Hogge used the inside line to open a sizable advantage over the second running Taylor.


Murray, another two-time Duel winner, snuck past Grabouski into third before the second and what proved to be the final caution came out on lap nine and erased Hogge’s big lead.


Hogge was quick to build a 10-car length advantage following the restart, with Murray, Phillips and Grabouski making up the closest pursuit. Phillips took over second at midway and Grabouski moved into third three laps later. Mechanical issues sent Murray to the infield on the 29th circuit.


Phillips, running a borrowed car with Grabouski’s powerplant and drivetrain, finally caught up with Hogge. The pair dueled side-by-side in lapped traffic before Phillips completed his pass with nine trips left around the track. Grabouski also got by and made the big money event close but couldn’t catch up.


His checkered flag run put Phillips on the ballot for the 2011 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.


Two hundred and thirty-three Modified drivers from 22 states and three Canadian provinces vied in the 13th annual event.


Nine states were represented in the main event. Top four finishers from each of two qualifying features Thursday and Friday, and the winners of 12 last chance races on Saturday made up the starting field.


Ricky Alvarado started on the pole and checked out on the rest of the Modified field in the EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour Shootout.


Also in a borrowed ride, Alvarado led Justen Yeager, Travis Metz, Joe Kent and Aaron Spangler across the finish line.


Perry Misner wound up with the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win after Jake Masters was docked 10 positions for jumping a restart halfway through their 20-lapper.


Misner took over the front when Masters and Kevin Opheim got together, which resulted in Opheim being relegated to the back of the pack. Masters had regained the apparent lead by passing Misner coming out of the final turn.


Joe Flory, Rex Higgins, Jeffrey Larson and Cary White rounded out the top five. Opheim worked his way back to sixth.


Feature Results


Modified feature – 1. Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.; 2. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.; 3. Bobby Hogge IV, Salinas, Calif.; 4. Terry Belcher Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.; 5. Todd Shute, Des Moines, Iowa; 6. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 7. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb.; 8. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 9. Matt Brack, Mead, Colo.; 10. Jeremy Payne, Springfield, Mo.; 11. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, Wis.; 12. Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo.; 13. Dominic Ursetta, Arvada, Colo.; 14. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, Iowa; 15. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 16. Luke Wanninger, Jefferson, Iowa; 17. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, Iowa; 18. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 19. Brad Pounds, Bakersfield, Calif.; 20. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia, Kan.; 21. Brian Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 22. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 23. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 24. Jeremy Mills, Garner, Iowa; 25. Darin Duffy, Hazleton, Iowa; 26. Mike Johnson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 27. Bob Moore, Sioux City, Iowa; 28. Cole Hodges, Ogallala, Neb.


EQ Cylinder Heads WWMT Shootout – 1. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 2. Justen Yeager, Green River, Wyo.; 3. Travis Metz, Blackfoot, Idaho; 4. Joe Kent, Las Vegas; 5. Aaron Spangler, Dove Creek, Colo.; 6.Ryan Cotrell, Las Vegas; 7. Jake Holland, Calpine, Calif.; 8. Brian Ungaro, Green River, Wyo.; 9. Jason Noll, Phoenix, Ariz.; 10. Richard Anderson, Shelley, Idaho; 11. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 12. Kelly Shaw, Idaho Falls, Idaho; 13. Nick Nelson, Farmington, N.M.; 14. Jason Donnelly, Rigby, Idaho; 15. Ron Moser, West Valley City, Utah; 16. Michael Hale, West Valley City, Utah; 17. Don Baisch, Idaho Falls, Idaho; 18. Chase Hansen, Myton, Utah; 19. Jake Donnelly, Rigby, Idaho; 20. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb.


Stock Car feature – 1. Perry Misner, Garden City, Kan.; 2. Joe Flory, Williston, N.D.; 3. Rex Higgins, Bloomfield, N.M.; 4. Jeffrey Larson, Lakefield, Minn.; 5. Cary White, Lamesa, Texas; 6. Kevin Opheim, Mason City, Iowa; 7. Mike Wadel, Garden City, Kan.; 8. Loren De Armond, Lemoore, Calif.; 9. Michael Sheen, Lamesa, Texas; 10. Lloyd Meeske, Champion, Neb.; 11. Jake Masters, Graettinger, Iowa; 12. Douglas Kennemer, Boyd, Texas; 13. Ronald Hurt, Hanford, Calif.; 14. Bill Ferguson, Norwood, Colo.; 15. Troy Patee, Hanford, Calif.; 16. Rick Mitchell, Fernie, B.C.; 17. Scott Krause-Mahan, Peyton, Colo.; 18. Cliff Mitchell, Fernie, B.C.; 19. Jon Dias, Riverdale, Calif.; 20. Toby Miller, Boyd, Texas; 21. Eric Hamilton, Hanford, Calif.; 22. Rodney Wadel, Garden City, Kan.; 23. Michael Lang, Midland, Texas; 24. Varion Hetle, Underwood, N.D.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...