Jump to content

CC Motor Speedway local class results 6/5/04

Recommended Posts

Tom Duggan and Chip Harmon paced the 16 car Texas Thunder feature to green with Harmon grabbing the lead. By lap 5 Will Robertson and GB Carter had worked their way from their back of the pack starting positions up to sixth and seventh after a caution for contact between Ronald Deleon and EJ Gilpin, who hit the wall. Robertson and Carter continued their way towards the front moving up to second and third by lap 11.


Robertson made the move around Harmon for the lead on lap 12, with Carter following him through. Coming to halfway Harmon spun and collected Rick Russell, Manuel Gage Guevera and Jimmy Costilla, blocking the track. Still running at full speed, Duggan, Jimbo Sousa and Pete Arce all plowed into the pile.(What, no brakes?) After a few tense minutes all drivers were deemed alright, though many cars may be scrap metal.



As the race restarted at halfway the top five were Robertson, Carter, Jesse Sandoval, Lisa Avalos and Mark Brooks. Robertson and Carter then began to pull away and quickly ran into lap traffic. As the lead duo came up to lap a slower car, Robertson tried low with Carter going high. The lap car made contact with Robertson, who locked up the brakes trying to avoid contact, but they hooked bumpers sending them both into the wall, while Carter was able to slide by unscathed.


Going back to last completed lap and not being charged with fault, Robertson was awarded the lead back. But it wasn’t long after the restart that Carter made the pass to get the point on lap 18. From there Carter was able to pull away from Robertson and despite two restarts, the Harlingen driver, Carter would be able to grab the victory in VW Rabbit sponsored by Carters Foreign Car Salvage.

Texas Thunder Class

1 77 GB Carter

2 14 Will Robertson

3 7 Jesse Sandoval

4 28 Lisa Avalos

5 69 Mark Brooks

6 13 Derrick Rittgers

7 99 Ronald Deleon

8 5 Manuel Gage Guevera

9 21 EJ Gilpin

10 73 Bobby Smith

11 1 Chip Harmon

12 44 Rick Russell

13 18 Pete Arce

14 01 Jimbo Sousa

15 00 Tom Duggan

16 24 Jimmy Costilla

Bobby Smith, EJ Gilpin and Lisa Avalos took heat wins.


In the 19 car, 25 lap, Bomber feature, Derringer Nesloney and Shawn Woods led the field. Nesloney was first into turn 1 to get the top spot, with three wide racing(Yikes!) Back in the pack. Nesloney and Woods had pulled ahead of Darrell Prosek, while big battle for fifth was heating up between Gene Hyde, Cory Viar, Marcus Casteneda, Troy Vela, Curtis King and John Hendricks.


Manny Trevino closed in on Prosek for third on lap 11 as the race neared halfway. At the mid-point Nesloney and Woods still had a big gap to the Prosek, Trevino battle, with Hyde breaking free on the pack to round out the top five. Woods, still running second, broke on lap 16 and pulled off, giving Nesloney nearly a half track lead over Trevino who had gotten by Prosek.



The races only caution came on lap 18 erasing Nesloney’s huge lead. Nesloney got a good jump on the restart, with three lap cars between he and Trevino. Bobby Jack moved along side Prosek on lap 22 for third. Prosek fell into the clutches of Hendricks. In the meantime Nesloney was running off to snare the checker.


Bomber Class

1 3 Derringer Nesloney

2 72 Manny Trevino

3 88 Bobby Jack

4 8 John Hendricks

5 19 Darrell Prosek

6 41 Curtis King

7 20 Troy Vela

8 36 Cory Viar

9 46 Jimbo Myers

10 71 Gene Hyde

11 28 Michael Jack

12 9 Marcus Casteneda

13 53 Carl Woods

14 25 Ernie Villegas

15 55 Joe Arce

16 6 Hector Ajuirre

17 43 Danny Phelps

18 10 Shawn Woods

19 73 Joshua McAlister

Heat winners were Derringer Nesloney, Shawn Woods and Troy Vela.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...