Jump to content

Tillison Wires NCRA Modified Foes in Finale/Lassiter Series Champion


Recommended Posts

Tillison Wires NCRA Modified Foes in Finale/Lassiter Series Champion




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Meeker, Oklahoma – October 16, 2010 - Thomas Tillison, Jr. picked up his second O’Reilly/NCRA modified south feature victory of the season in convincing style as the tour put to wraps their 2010 race season Saturday night at Brill Motor Speedway in Meeker, Oklahoma. And while the Wellston resident and series regular dominated the event it was Mickey Lassiter of Piedmont officially wrapping up the series championship.


The win was especially sweet for Tillison as the event was billed as the 1st annual Mark Robinson Memorial in honor of Mark, who passed away in his sleep a couple of months ago. Mark was Tillison’s brother in-law.


Randy Timms started on the outside front row for the fifty lap feature and quickly set the pace over the rest of the field. Third starting Tillison, aboard the #85 U.S. Cellular/WT Racing LLC. sponsored Taylor/Shaw chassis wasted little time getting to the front and took over the point on lap six.


Tillison set the pace on the rest of the field until the mandatory red flag fuel stop at the races midway point, lap twenty-five.


Once racing action resumed it was all Tillison as he led the rest of the distance to pick up the season finale victory. Chad Davis, who earned the series rookie of the year honors, finished second while Greg Burt came home third.


Lassiter had to go through a challenge to pick up his series point championship. The Piedmont driver had to compete in the “B” feature where he finished fourth. He then started twelfth in the feature finale and worked his way up to a fourth place finish. Timms rounded out the top five.


This event puts a wrap on the second consecutive season for the O’Reilly/NCRA modified south division. Lassiter and the rest of the top ten in the series point standings will be awarded at the series banquet, to be held on Saturday night, January 29th, in Wichita, Kansas. More details will be announced in the coming weeks.


The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following for their contribution and involvement with the modified south division for 2010: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels,


Official 2010 Modified South Contingency Sponsors: Arizona Sports Shirts, Bassett Wheels, Belleville Motor Sports, C&E Performance, Hooker Harness, The Joie of Seating, On Another Level Designs, M&M Custom Graphics, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Taylor Cable Products and Ultra-Shield Race Products.


The Joie of Seating 2nd Place – Davis


Saldana Racing Products 2nd Place – Davis


Rod End Supply 3rd Place – Burt


Belleville Motor Sports 4th Place- Lassiter


Hooker Harness 8th Place – Chaffin


C&E Performance 12th Place – Goodman


B Feature: Not available at press time


A Feature - 50 laps: 1) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 2) Chad Davis 3) Greg Burt 4) Mickey Lassiter 5) Randy Timms 6) Matt French 7) Alan Oliva 8) Craig Chaffin 9) Tony Anderson 10) Dusty Robbins 11) Jeff Rozelle 12) Colt Goodman 13) Joel Hill 14) Charles Day 15) Glen Chapa 16) Kenneth Bonner 17) John Whitson 18) Kyle Sweeney 19) Ryan Brandon 20) Brian Danker 21) Ron Gould, Jr. 22) Billy Turner


Friday Night qualifying results


1st Heat: 1) Chad Davis 2) Colt Goodman 3) Jeff Rozelle 4) Charles Day 5) Steve Little 6) Brian Danker 7) Joel Hill


2nd Heat: 1) Matt French 2) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 3) Alan Oliva 4) Craig Chaffin 5) Dusty Robbins 6) Kyle Sweeney 7) Glen Chapa


3rd Heat: 1) Greg Burt 2) Randy Timms 3) Ron Gould, Jr. 4) Mickey Lassiter 5) Kenneth Bonner 6) Billy Turner


1st A Qualifier: 1) Chad Davis 2) Greg Burt 3) Kyle Sweeney 4) Colt Goodman 5) Jeff Rozelle 6) Dusty Robbins 7) Kenneth Bonner 8) Mickey Lassiter 9) Ron Gould, Jr. 10) Joel Hill 11) Tony Anderson


2nd A Qualifier: 1) Randy Timms 2) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 3) Matt French 4) Charles Day 5) Craig Chaffin 6) Brian Danker 7) Billy Turner 8) Alan Oliva 9) Glen Chapa 10) Steve Little

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...