Jump to content

Foster takes point race lead to Lee County, Hawkeye Dirt Tour date

Recommended Posts

Foster takes point race lead to Lee County

for JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour date


DONNELLSON, Iowa (June 30) – Josh Foster will have familiarity on his side when the JR Motorsports Hawk­eye Dirt Tour journeys to Lee County Speedway for its Thursday, July 1 show.


The leader in point standings for the IMCA Modified series, the three-time and defending track champion at Donnellson has already won four weekly features there this season. He’s tied for first in the local track point race with Brandon Rothzen after topping last Friday’s main event.


Foster, Richie Gustin Jr. and Jeff Waterman have won the three tour events held so far. Thursday’s program is part of the Liberty Cup special and also boasts the final event in IMCA’s Great American Stock Car Series.


Each feature pays $1,000 to win. In addition, the Modified main is a qualifying race for the 2011 Fast Shafts All-Star Invita­tional ballot.


Pre-race tech at Donnellson gets underway at approximately 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30 p.m.


Grandstand tickets are $12 for adults, $11 for seniors and $7 for students ages 11-17. Kids 10 and under get in free. Pit passes are $25.


More information about the Liberty Cup card is available by calling 319 528-4301 or 319 835-5523 on race day. The track website is www.leecountyspeedway.com.


A pair of visits to scenic Northeast Iowa will be next for the Hawkeye Dirt Tour. Fayette County Speedway in West Union hosts the Tuesday, July 20 show and Upper Iowa Speedway at Decorah is site of the Thursday, July 29 event.


JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Josh Foster, Montrose, 110; 2. Jay Note­boom, Hinton, 107; 3. Rich Smith, Davenport, 104; 4. Mike Jergens, Plover, 101; 5. Richie Gustin Jr., Gilman, 95; 6. Mark Schulte, Delhi, 92; 7. Ron Pope, Mason City, 80; 8. Max Corporon, Marion, 75; 9. Nate Caruth, Ames, 69; 10. Greg Cox, Altoona, 65; 11. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton, 61; 12. Clint Wendel, Mason City, and Justin O’Brien, West Union, both 60; 14. Dennis Betzer, Central City, and Randy Havlik, Madrid, both 59; 16. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 58; 17. Jeff Morris, Long Grove, and Ed Thomas, Waterloo, both 57; 19. Jeff Water­man, Quincy, Ill., 56; 20. J.J. Wise, Manly, Vern Jackson, Waterloo, and Mark Elliott, Webster City, each 50.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...