Jump to content

Henrickson, Kirchoff take CLMA wins at Black Hills & Gillette

Recommended Posts

Henrickson Picks Up First Career CLMA DIRTcar Series Win at Black Hills Speedway

by: Cory Moul, CLMA DIRTcar Series Promotions Director


Rapid City, SD (May 14th) Hometown driver Dan Henrickson picked up his first career Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series victory at Black Hills Speedway. Eddie Kirchoff Jr started on the pole and jumped out to an early lead. By lap twenty Kirchoff had lapped all the way up to 6th place and had almost a half lap lead of Dan Henrickson. Eric Mass, and John Bey who had been fighting for the second spot almost the entire race. Henrickson inherited the lead when Eddied Kirchoff, Jr. had the center section of his wheel rip out sending him into the turn one wall ending his night with less then 10 laps to go. This was the only caution of the race and on the restart Dan Henrickson jumped out to the lead and was able to hold off Eric Mass and John Bey for the remainder of the race to pick up the win in front of his hometown fans.


Eric Mass of Rapid City, SD finished 2nd followed by John Bey of Sturgis, SD in 3rd, Brent Nielson of Rapid City, SD in 4th, and Ed Kirchoff Sr of Gillette, WY in 5th. The top finishing Colorado driver was Dave Garman in 8th. Scott Lewis and Roy Spielman both blew up and didn't finish the race.


In the second heat race of the night Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series President JT Botts was involved in one of the worst wrecks in series history. Botts and Shad Karna got together going into corner three sending Botts head on nto the wall at full throttle. For precautionary measures Botts was cut out of his car, placed on a back board and taken to the hospital. Botts was released with no major injuries late Friday night, but his car was destroyed. Botts was more worried about holding up the show than his health. He even pulled the motor out of his wrecked car and loaned it to Scott Lewis so he could race on Saturday night at Gillette Thunder Speedway.


CLMA DIRTcar Series Results at Black Hills Speedway - May 14th

1. Dan Henrickson

2. Eric Mass

3. John Bey

4. Brent Neilson

5. Ed Kirchoff

6. Matt Sheesley

7. Jason Schierkolk

8. Dave Garmann

9. Lynn Amick

10. Nate Beacham

11. Morris Oberle

12. Mike Stadel

13. Chris Johnson

14. Eddie Kirchoff

15. Scott Lewis

16. Roy Spielman

17. Scott Anderson

18. Roger Mohns

19. JT Botts

20. Schad Karna


Kirchoff Picks Up Third Win of CLMA DIRTcar Series Season at Gillette Thunder Speedway

by: Cory Moul, CLMA DIRTcar Series Promotions Director


Gillette, WY (May 15th) - After giving away a win the night before at Black Hills Speedway because of a broken wheel that send Eddie Kirchoff into the wall he was a man on a mission at his home track, Gillette Thunder Speedway, on Saturday night. He won his heat race, the pole dash, and lead every lap of the 30 lap main event that went green to checkered. This was Eddie's third win in four starts with the Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series in 2010, giving him a total of 14 career CLMA DIRTcar Series wins, only two behind all time CLMA DIRTcar Series wins leader Brett Hallmark with 16.


Dan Herickson of Rapid City, SD finished 2nd followed by Eric Mass of Rapid City, SD in 3rd, Matt Sheesley of Rapid City, SD in 4th and 11th starting Dave Garmann of Brighton, CO in 5th.


CLMA DIRTcar Series Results at Gillette Thunder Speedway - May 15th

1. Eddie Kirchoff

2. Dan Henrickson

3. Eric Mass

4. Matt Sheesley

5. Dave Garmann

6. Ed Kirchoff

7. Jason Schierkolk

8. Morris Oberle

9. Danny Allen

10. Brent Neilsen

11. Scott Lewis

12. Chrs Johnson

13. John Bey

14. Scott Anderson

15. Nate Beacham

16. Dylon Schmer


Going into the next Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series race at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas on June 4th and 5th Eddie Kirchoff is looking like one of the favorites to win. This race will be co-sanctioned with the MARS DIRTcar Series and the NCRA and will pay $10,000 to win and $750 to start.


CLMA DIRTcar Series Top 10 in Points as of May 15th

1. Eddie Kirchoff - 262

2. Jason Schierkolk - 214

3. Dave Garmann - 211

4. Scott Lewis - 191

5. Dan Henrickson - 145

6. Ed Kirchoff - 139

7. Eric Mass - 135

8. Delbert Smith - 130

9. Matt Sheesley - 110

10. John Bey - 103


For more info go to www.coloradolatemodel.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...